Find information about services and policies at the OCC Libraries. To find books or articles for research, try Search Everything or choose a library database.
What's my OCC ID and password?
The MyOCC ID/PW is required to view articles from home, to use your internet printing account, and for OCC functions like registering for courses or checking your grades. Visit the Student Technical Helpdesk if you need assistance recovering your MyOCC username password.
How do I get a Library Card?
Your Raider One Card serves as your library card and will allow you to check materials out of the library, renew books online, request items from another campus library and make print outs or copies. Order your Raider One Card by submitting a photo online.
Do you have textbooks for my classes?
As a general rule, the OCC Libraries do not own copies of your current textbooks. Your instructor may have placed a copy on Course Reserve in your campus library. Check the “Reserve” tab in the Library Catalog. See the OCC Bookstore to learn which books are required for your courses. See the full Library Textbook Policy.
How does printing/copying work in the Library?
Printing or copying in the OCC Libraries requires a Raider OneCard or purchasing a reusable print card. You may purchase a card for $1 (50¢ for card, 50¢ for prints) from a cash-only card PayStation. You may also use the PayStation to add money to your card as needed. The costs for printing/copying are 10¢ per side for black & white and 30¢ per side for color.
How do I find books?
Books are located by searching the Library Catalog in Search Everything, the search box on the Library website. For help locating a book on the shelf, ask a Librarian. For assistance searching the Catalog, Chat with a Librarian.
Do the OCC Libraries provide access to Government Documents?
The Orchard Ridge Campus King Library is a selective depository for United States Government Documents. For information about access to King Library’s government document collection, see our Government Research Guide.
How do I get a book from another campus? Other libraries?
If you have found a book in the Library Catalog that is owned by another campus, you can easily request it. Sign in with your MyOCC user name and password, then click “Request" for your selected item. Choose a campus for pickup, and request. You will receive an email when your book arrives. To request books from outside of OCC, see Interlibrary Loan.
Is contactless pick up service available for library books?
OCC students, faculty, and staff can request books, DVDs, webcams, and scientific calculators for contactless pickup. Find out more.
How do I renew a book online?
In Search Everything, go to Sign In with your MyOCC user name and password and click on "My Account" link at the top of the screen. Check selected items and "Renew". If the items are already overdue or it is the due date, you will need to contact your campus library's Circulation Desk to renew.
How do I know when my Library materials are due?
All OCC Students will receive library notices through their OCC Student E-mail accounts. Check your OCC E-mail for messages with the subject line "A Reminder from Your OCC Library". If you have any questions, please call or stop by an OCC Library.
How can I return library materials?
You can return your library materials by dropping them off at any campus library circulation desk. Or use one of the external drop boxes located on each campus to return your library materials at your convenience to any campus library. See maps with drop box locations for each campus: Auburn Hills | Highland Lakes | Orchard Ridge | Royal Oak | Southfield
Are there Group Study Rooms?
Yes, availability varies by campus. Please contact your campus library Circulation Desk for more information.
What other equipment may be checked out from the Library?
Contact your campus library Circulation desk for details.
How can I find OCC Library resources from off-campus?
Use Search Everything or the OCC Libraries databases any time, anywhere with your MyOCC login to search for articles, ebooks, streaming videos and more.
How can I get help from an OCC Librarian while off-campus?
How can I find a good topic for a research paper?
CQ Researcher or Points of View, two of our databases, provide a fast way to get ideas for contemporary topics. To locate them, go to the Library’s Finding Articles/Databases web pages and look under the heading “General”.
How can I find articles on a topic?
Start by choosing one of our online databases, and then choose to do a subject search. Most of our databases contain thousands of full text (entire) articles. They’re free to OCC students and staff! See the “Finding Articles” page from the Library Home.
How do I find scholarly articles?
“Peer-reviewed” articles are considered scholarly. Often our databases have an option to limit searches to these scholarly articles. Check the limit box (“to peer-reviewed publications” or “Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals” ) on the search page and continue your search. For help, ask a Librarian.
How do I cite sources in MLA or APA format?
Check out the library's "How to cite sources" page for more information.
Do I have to sign-in to use to use a library computer?
Computers are used on a first-come, first-served basis to OCC students, faculty and staff. For more information, see OCC Library Internet Policy.
Do you have word processing on the Library computers?
Yes, all campus libraries have Microsoft Word available for student or staff use.
Do you have wireless internet?
Yes, all the OCC campus libraries have wireless access.