Having trouble connecting to OCC library databases? Here are some general troubleshooting tips.
Legitimate OCC users only:
Only currently registered students or current employees of OCC will be able to get into the databases from off campus by entering their MyOCC ID & password. Do not include the OCCNT/ before your user name as you do to login to D2L.
Update or switch your browser:
Make sure your browser is updated to the most current version or try switching to a different browser if you are having technical difficulties. Commonly used browsers are Firefox, Chrome, Edge or Safari.
Clear browser history
Clearing your browser history will will solve the problem in many cases.
Search Everything is fully searchable as a guest user but in order to request materials owned by OCC Libraries you will have to login with your MyOCC credentials.
Select the "Sign In" link and enter your MyOCC username & password to be able to request books for pickup at OCC Libraries.
The LearningExpress Library database requires you to create a free account before using.
Your MyOCC ID & password will not work by default in this database, but you could use your OCC credentials when creating the free account.
If you are trying to access this database from off-campus you may first be asked for your MyOCC ID & password, then you can register a new account (or sign in with an existing one) at the bottom of the database home screen.
If you want to use the special features of the ITpro Books24x7 ebook collection you will have to create a free account. Find out more about registering an account.
Your free ITpro Books24x7 account allows you to create personal folders to manage your favorite books, add bookmarks to chapters and keep notes about the books you use.
Some users trying to login to library resources from outside the United States may receive an error code (Error 16 or Error 20) which usually indicates a problem related to the users local network. If you run into this you might try the following:
The OCC Libraries can also provide you a password for alternate access to some databases as a potential workaround. Let us know if you have any questions or would like to request password access.
Search Everything: Full text availability is indicated but no full text link is available
You may find articles in Search Everything where it indicates that the full text of an article is available but instead of a link in the record there is the text "No full text available." Here's an example.
These errors are usually for articles from newspapers or online sources and typically associated with Gale databases. You may be able to find the article by searching for it by title using the Gale Power Search search engine and searching for the title of the article.
If you are having trouble logging into OCC databases through the usual method, you can use the Michigan eLibrary databases as a backup.
If our normal authentication system is down for any reason, you might also be able to login by password for many of the databases if you are faculty, staff, or a currently enrolled student at OCC. Find out more about password access here.