Business & LegalEducation & CareersEncyclopedias, Dictionaries, & General ReferenceMedical & HealthNewspapersSciences
Databases With Special Instructions
This is the "Database Access Help" page of the "Find Articles / Databases " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Oakland Community College Libraries Home
Find Books / Library Catalog | Find Articles / Databases | Research Guides | Libraries Home

Find Articles / Databases  

Updated: Jun 10, 2014 URL: http://libguides.oaklandcc.edu/find_articles Print Guide RSS Updates

Database Access Help Print Page
  Search: 
 

Alternative login method from off-campus

If you are having trouble logging into OCC databases through the usual method, you can use the Michigan eLibrary databases as a backup.

  • MeL Databases
    Log in using your state ID or driver's license. Many but not all OCC databases are available.
 

General Tips

Having trouble connecting to OCC library databases? Here are some general troubleshooting tips.

  • Legitimate OCC users only:
    Only students currently taking classes or persons employed by OCC will be able to get into the databases from off campus by entering their OCC ID & password.
  • Try a different browser
    Some browsers may not work as well as others with certain databases.  If you can, try connecting to your database in a different browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, or Chrome are the most commonly used browsers).
  • Password resets:
    The OCC Online Services user name/password is required to use library article databases from home, to access your Raider One Card account information, and for OCC functions like registering for classes or checking your grades.  See the College’s Online Services page to see how to set up a new user name/password or request a password reset. On the Online Services page, click click the What's my password? link at the bottom right to reset your password or check with Library staff in person as they may be able to assist you. Bring an official picture ID, such as a driver’s license.
  • Popups:
    Databases open in their own windows. Hit control and the link to temporarily override a popup blocker or disable the blocker. In the Internet Explorer browser, go to Tools > Popup Blocker and Turn Off Popup Blocker.
  • Cookies:
    Cookies must be enabled to use the databases from off-campus. In the Internet Explorer browser, go to Tools > Internet Options > Privacy > Advanced, then click the checkbox for Override automatic cookie handling; select Accept for both First-party Cookies and Third-party Cookies and check the Always allow session cookies option.
  • Norton Internet Security program:
    Norton Internet Security (not Norton Anti-Virus) may block access into databases. This can be temporarily turned off. Go into the controls for the program to disable it.
  • Ad-Blocker:
    Ad-blocking programs may need to be temporarily disabled.
  • Firewalls:
    You may need to temporarily disabled your firewall.
 

Known Issues

Blank screen after searching in ScienceDirect
Sometimes when searching the ScienceDiretc database in the Internet Explorer browser you will end up with a blank screen.  This may be fixed by either using a different browser or by disabling Protected Mode in Internet Explorer (Tools > Internet Options > Security > uncheck box for Protected Mode).

Trusted Site  / Security Certificate error when logging in
There is a known issue with a trusted site or security certificate error for some off-campus users.  If you see this message, it is safe to continue if you are linking from an OCC page:
problem

"Product session has expired" error message in Gale databases:
If you get a "product session has expired" error message when using a Gale database (pictured below), you can fix it by overriding automatic cookie handling. See Cookies in the General Tips section of this page for information on how to override automatic cookie handling.
Gale Error Screen

For More Help:

 

Comments

Please let us know if you found this page helpful or if you have any suggestions for improvement.

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip