Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oakland Community College Home

Libraries

Find Books / Library Catalog | Find Articles / Databases | Research Guides | Libraries Home
Winter 2021 Changes to Library Services

ENG 2550- British Literature Before 1700: Home

Home

"Beowulf and Grendel", illustration by Britt Martin

Library Resources for British Literature Before 1700- Contents

This guide is designed to provide students taking ENG 2550 with Prof. Suzanne Labadie with a list of suggested sources for finding biographical information on authors, critical information on literary works, culture, and historical events in Britain and Europe prior to the 18th century.  

Please note that additional resources may be added as the semester progresses; be sure to Bookmark or add this guide to your Favorites!

Image result for medieval actors

Databases

Searching OCC Databases

OCC's databases provide access to thousands of articles and other content  from academic and peer reviewed journals, excerpts from books, and credible web sites.

Click on More below the database name to read a short description of a database and its focus, or if listed How To Use...to view a short video tutorial.  

If prompted, enter your MyOCC user name and password, the same one that you use to login to D2L.  

 

Author Biographies, Literary Criticism, and Analysis

General Databases

History and Events

Credible Web Content from Google Scholar

Unlike typical results on Google.com, Google Scholar specifically searches the web for academic literature and resources, excerpts and selected full-text access to Google Books, and also provides links to the library's JSTOR database.  

Additional Resources

Selected e-Books

OCC students have access to hundreds of FREE and FULL TEXT electronic books! Most can be partially downloaded. To open any of the books listed on this page:

  • Click on the title.
  • Click on the name of the database listed after: Full Text Available. 

How To Find eBooks

Watch this short video to learn how to search the library catalog and find more eBooks about specific authors, literary works, or historical events!

If You Write It, You've Got To Cite It!

Follow the link below to find OCC examples and other guides for MLA  8th edition. 

Selected e-Books

 

 

Books In The Library

Books can be requested from any campus library for pickup at the campus closest to you! Please view this short video on our contactless pickup service, and then use the Search The Library Catalog to locate items by keyword. 

Search the Library Catalog

Search by:

Select an OCC Location:

Need Help? Keep Calm, And Ask A Librarian!

Use the form below to chat LIVE with a librarian, 24/7! You can also connect with us through email or Zoom.

Visit the Ask A Librarian page to see all your options! 

OCC is committed to empowering our students to succeed and advancing our community.
©2020 Oakland Community College, 2480 Opdyke Road, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304, 248.341.2000
Privacy Statement | Mission, Strategic Priorities, Vision | Accreditations | Webmaster