Textbooks
World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 from University of North Georgia Review
A comprehensive introduction to the history of humankind from prehistory to 1500. Authored by six USG faculty members with advance degrees in History, this textbook offers up-to-date original scholarship. It covers such cultures, states, and societies as Ancient Mesopotamia, Ancient Israel, Dynastic Egypt, India’s Classical Age, the Dynasties of China, Archaic Greece, the Roman Empire, Islam, Medieval Africa, the Americas, and the Khanates of Central Asia. It includes 350 high-quality images and maps, chronologies, and learning questions to help guide student learning. Its digital nature allows students to follow links to applicable sources and videos, expanding their educational experience beyond the textbook.
Textbooks
World History: Cultures, States, and Societies to 1500 (See above HIS 1510)
Textbooks
Modern World History from Minnesota Libraries Publishing
Published 2021, the textbook for an undergraduate survey course taught at all the universities and most of the colleges in the Minnesota State system.
Textbooks
U.S. History from OpenStax
Designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses,the text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender.designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of most introductory courses. The text provides a balanced approach to U.S. history, considering the people, events, and ideas that have shaped the United States from both the top down (politics, economics, diplomacy) and bottom up (eyewitness accounts, lived experience). U.S. History covers key forces that form the American experience, with particular attention to issues of race, class, and gender.
Digital History from University of Houston
U.S. history textbook; over 400 annotated documents from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, supplemented by primary sources on slavery, Mexican American, Asian American, and Native American history, and U.S. political, social, and legal history; succinct essays on the history of film, ethnicity, private life, and technology; multmedia exhibitions; and reference resources that include a database of annotated links, classroom handouts, chronologies, glossaries, an audio archive including speeches and book talks by historians, and a visual archive with hundreds of historical maps and images. More details
The American Yawp: a Massively Collaborative Open History Textbook
Online primary sources updated 2021-2022; includes teaching materials
Print copies available from Stanford University Press
Textbooks (see above descriptions for HIS 2510)
U.S. History from OpenStax (see above)
Digital History from University of Houston (see above)
The American Yawp: a Massively Collaborative Open History Textbook (see above)