NEW February Additions!
Ethics of Artificial Intelligence by As Artificial Intelligence (AI) technologies rapidly progress, questions about the ethics of AI, in both the near-future and the long-term, become more pressing than ever. This volume features seventeen original essays by prominent AI scientists and philosophers and represents thestate-of-the-art thinking in this fast-growing field.Organized into four sections, this volume explores the issues surrounding how to build ethics into machines; ethical issues in specific technologies, including self-driving cars, autonomous weapon systems, surveillance algorithms, and sex robots; the long term risks of superintelligence; and whetherAI systems can be conscious or have rights.Though the use and practical applications of AI are growing exponentially, discussion of its ethical implications is still in its infancy. This volume provides an invaluable resource for thinking through the ethical issues surrounding AI today and for shaping the study and development of AI in thecoming years.
Call Number: Q 334.7 .E84 2020 - Auburn Hills & Orchard Ridge
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Thinking Better by One of the world's great mathematicians shows why math is the ultimate timesaver--and how everyone can make their lives easier with a few simple shortcuts. We are often told that hard work is the key to success. But success isn't about hard work - it's about shortcuts. Shortcuts allow us to solve one problem quickly so that we can tackle an even bigger one. They make us capable of doing great things. And according to Marcus du Sautoy, math is the very art of the shortcut. Thinking Better is a celebration of how math lets us do more with less. Du Sautoy explores how diagramming revolutionized therapy, why calculus is the greatest shortcut ever invented, whether you must really practice for ten thousand hours to become a concert violinist, and why shortcuts give us an advantage over even the most powerful AI. Throughout, we meet artists, scientists, and entrepreneurs who use mathematical shortcuts to change the world. Delightful, illuminating, and above all practical, Thinking Better is for anyone who has wondered why you should waste time climbing the mountain when you could go around it much faster.
Call Number: QA 39 .D77 2021 - Orchard Ridge
Publication Date: 2021-10-19
Secure Software Design by With the multitude of existing attacks that are known to date and the number that will continue to emerge, software security is in a reactive state and many have predicted that it will remain so for the foreseeable future. This book seeks to change that opinion by presenting a practical guide to proactive software security. Secure Software Design is written for the student, the developer, and management to bring a new way of thinking to secure software design. The focus of this book is on analyzing risks, understanding likely points of attack, and pre-deciding how your software will deal with the attack that will inevitably arise. By looking at the systemic threats in any deployment environment and studying the vulnerabilities of your application, this book will show you how to construct software that can deal with attacks both known and unknown instead of waiting for catastrophe and the cleanup efforts of tomorrow. Hands-on examples and simulated cases for the novice and the professional support each chapter by demonstrating the principles presented.
Call Number: QA 76.76 .D47 R537 2013 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2012-03-08
Getting Started with Raspberry Pi by The Raspberry Pi is a credit card-sized computer that plugs into your TV and a keyboard. It is a capable little computer which can be used in electronics projects, and for many of the things that your desktop PC does, like spreadsheets, word processing, browsing the internet, and playing games. It also plays high-definition video.
Call Number: QA 76.8. R19 R53 2021 - Orchard Ridge
Publication Date: 2021-11-23
Blockchain for Cybersecurity and Privacy by Blockchain technology is defined as a decentralized system of distributed registers that are used to record data transactions on multiple computers. The reason this technology has gained popularity is that you can put any digital asset or transaction in the blocking chain, the industry does not matter. Blockchain technology has infiltrated all areas of our lives, from manufacturing to healthcare and beyond. Cybersecurity is an industry that has been significantly affected by this technology and may be more so in the future. Blockchain for Cybersecurity and Privacy: Architectures, Challenges, and Applications is an invaluable resource to discover the blockchain applications for cybersecurity and privacy. The purpose of this book is to improve the awareness of readers about blockchain technology applications for cybersecurity and privacy. This book focuses on the fundamentals, architectures, and challenges of adopting blockchain for cybersecurity. Readers will discover different applications of blockchain for cybersecurity in IoT and healthcare. The book also includes some case studies of the blockchain for e-commerce online payment, retention payment system, and digital forensics. The book offers comprehensive coverage of the most essential topics, including: Blockchain architectures and challenges Blockchain threats and vulnerabilities Blockchain security and potential future use cases Blockchain for securing Internet of Things Blockchain for cybersecurity in healthcare Blockchain in facilitating payment system security and privacy This book comprises a number of state-of-the-art contributions from both scientists and practitioners working in the fields of blockchain technology and cybersecurity. It aspires to provide a relevant reference for students, researchers, engineers, and professionals working in this particular area or those interested in grasping its diverse facets and exploring the latest advances on the blockchain for cybersecurity and privacy.
Call Number: QA 76.9 .B56 B55 2020 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2020-06-22
Blockchain Technology and Applications by Blockchain is emerging as a powerful technology, which has attracted the wider attention of all businesses across the globe. In addition to financial businesses, IT companies and business organizations are keenly analyzing and adapting this technology for improving business processes. Security is the primary enterprise application. There are other crucial applications that include creating decentralized applications and smart contracts, which are being touted as the key differentiator of this pioneering technology. The power of any technology lies in its ecosystem. Product and tool vendors are building and releasing a variety of versatile and robust toolsets and platforms in order to speed up and simplify blockchain application development, deployment and management. There are other infrastructure-related advancements in order to streamline blockchain adoption. Cloud computing, big data analytics, machine and deep learning algorithm, and connected and embedded devices all are driving blockchain application development and deployment. Blockchain Technology and Applicationsillustrates how blockchain is being sustained through a host of platforms, programming languages, and enabling tools. It examines: Data confidential, integrity, and authentication Distributed consensus protocols and algorithms Blockchain systems design criteria and systems interoperability and scalability Integration with other technologies including cloud and big data It also details how blockchain is being blended with cloud computing, big data analytics and IoT across all industry verticals. The book gives readers insight into how this path-breaking technology can be a value addition in several business domains ranging from healthcare, financial services, government, supply chain, and retail.
Call Number: QA 76.9 .B56 B5633 2021 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2020-09-17
Database Systems by Database skills are among the most in-demand IT skills today. Now you can gain a solid foundation in database design and implementation with the practical, easy-to-understand approach in the market-leading DATABASE SYSTEMS: DESIGN, IMPLEMENTATION, AND MANAGEMENT, 13E. Diagrams, illustrations, and tables clarify in-depth coverage of database design. You learn the key to successful database implementation as you study how to properly design databases to fit within the larger strategic data environment. Clear, straightforward writing supports an outstanding balance of theory and practice with hands-on skills today�s employers want. Revised SQL coverage offers more SQL examples and simpler explanations that focus on the areas most important for a database career. More coverage of Big Data Analytics and NoSQL, including related Hadoop technologies, now provides a stronger hands-on approach.
Call Number: QA 76.9 .D26 C67 2019 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
What's the Use? by See the world in a completely new way as an esteemed mathematician shows how math powers the world--from technology to health care and beyond. Almost all of us have sat in a math class, wondering when we'd ever need to know how to find the roots of a polynomial or graph imaginary numbers. And in one sense, we were right: if we needed to, we'd use a computer. But as Ian Stewart argues in What's the Use?, math isn't just about boring computations. Rather, it offers us new and profound insights into our world, allowing us to accomplish feats as significant as space exploration and organ donation. From the trigonometry that keeps a satellite in orbit to the prime numbers used by the world's most advanced security systems to the imaginary numbers that enable augmented reality, math isn't just relevant to our lives. It is the very fabric of our existence.
Call Number: QA 93 .S744 2021 - Orchard Ridge
Publication Date: 2021-08-17
Reimagining Time by A quirky, funny, and accessible blend of science and art that delves into the heart of Einstein's theory of relativity "A fascinating introduction to the core concepts of special relativity. The unique illustrated format and elegant writing will appeal to readers who have not encountered these ideas before."--Chad Orzel, author of How to Teach Quantum Physics to Your Dog It was a link to Albert Einstein's 1905 paper--an early attempt at explaining his revolutionary ideas on space, time, and matter--that drew Tanya Bub into his imaginative vision of the world. What particularly struck her was how Einstein interwove words and math to create clear visuals illustrating his theories. As an artist, she naturally started doodling as she worked her way through his concepts, creating drawings that intuitively demonstrated Einstein's core principles. In Reimagining Time, Tanya Bub teams up with her father, the distinguished physicist Jeffrey Bub, to create a quirky and accessible take on one of science's most revolutionary discoveries. Blending original art and text, they guide readers--even nonmathematicians--through Einstein's theory of special relativity to reveal truths about our universe: time is relative, lengths get shorter with motion, energy and mass are interchangeable, and the universe has a speed limit.
Call Number: QC 173.59 .S65 B83 2021 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2021-04-13
A Dictionary of Physics by Now with over 4,000 entries, this new eighth edition has been fully updated to reflect progress in physics and related fields. It sees expansion to the areas of cosmology, astrophysics, condensed matter, quantum technology, and nanotechnology, with 125 new entries including Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment, kilonova, leptoquark, and muscovium. The dictionary's range of appendices, updated for the new edition, includes the periodic table, the electromagnetic spectrum, and a detailed chronology of key dates. 15 new diagrams add to the clarity and accessibility of the text, with 150 line drawings, tables, and graphs in total, and many entries contain recommended web links.This popular dictionary remains the most up-to-date of its kind: the essential introductory reference tool for students encountering physics terms and concepts, as well as for professionals and anyone with an interest in the subject.
Call Number: QC 5 .C56 2019 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
The Power of Narrative by There is an ideological war of words waging in America, one that speaks to a new fundamentalism rising not just within the American public, but across other ideologically-torn nations around the globe as well. At its heart is climate skepticism, an ideological watershed that has become a core belief for millions of people despite a large scientific consensus supporting the science of anthropogenic climate change. While many scholars have examined the role of lobbyists and conservative think tanks in fueling the climate skepticism movement, there has not yet been a systematic analysis of why the narrative itself has resonated so powerfully with the public. Pulling from science and technology studies, narrative and discourse theory, and public policy, The Power of Narrative examines the strength of climate skepticism as a story, offering a thoughtful analysis and comparison of anti-climate science narratives over time and across geographic boundaries. This book provides fresh insight into the rhetorical and semantic properties on both sides of the climate change debate that preclude dialogue around climate science, and proposes a means for moving beyond ideological entrenchment through language mediation, further ethnographic study, and research-informed teaching. The Power of Narrative culminates in the revelation of a parallel between narratives about climate skepticism and those in other issue areas (e.g., gun rights, immigration, health crises), exposing a genetic meta-narrative of public distrust and isolation. Ultimately, The Power of Narrative is not a book about climate change in itself: it is, instead, a book about how our society understands and interacts with science, how a social narrative becomes ideology, and how we can move beyond personal and political dogma to arrive at a sense of collective rapprochement.
Call Number: QC 981.45 .L45 2020 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
MORE NEW February Additions!
The Beauty of Chemistry by Images and text capture the astonishing beauty of the chemical processes that create snowflakes, bubbles, flames, and other wonders of nature. Chemistry is not just about microscopic atoms doing inscrutable things; it is the process that makes flowers and galaxies. We rely on it for bread-baking, vegetable-growing, and producing the materials of daily life. In stunning images and illuminating text, this book captures chemistry as it unfolds. Using such techniques as microphotography, time-lapse photography, and infrared thermal imaging, The Beauty of Chemistry shows us how chemistry underpins the formation of snowflakes, the science of champagne, the colors of flowers, and other wonders of nature and technology. We see the marvelous configurations of chemical gardens; the amazing transformations of evaporation, distillation, and precipitation; heat made visible; and more.
Call Number: QD 37 .B28 2020 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2021-05-11
Biology Stories by Storytelling is the easiest way to become a more effective teacher. Tying a concept to a memorable story is the best method of engaging your students and ensuring they will never forget the importance and relevance of the concept. This book contains 50 stories directly tied to content taught in biology. These stories are ready to use - read them to your students, paraphrase them in your own words, or use the information to create materials for your courses. The table of contents lists an order of topics that follows nearly every general biology textbook, with relevant stories for each topic. Stories include the Radium Girls (radiation), Genesis Burkett (osmosis), Johnny Appleseed (fermentation), Nancy Wexler and Huntington's Disease (genetics), the first conviction based on DNA fingerprinting (biotech), when humans started wearing clothes (evolution), egret plume hats (ecology), and many more. Some of the stories can be tied to more than one concept, providing a great way to help students integrate concepts from across your curriculum.
Call Number: QH 315 .T84 2020 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2020-09-10
The Origin of Species by Charles Darwin's classic that exploded into public controversy, revolutionized the course of science, and continues to transform our views of the world. Few other books have created such a lasting storm of controversy as The Origin of Species. Darwin's theory that species derive from other species by a gradual evolutionary process and that the average level of each species is heightened by the "survival of the fittest" stirred up popular debate to fever pitch. Its acceptance revolutionized the course of science. As Sir Julian Huxley, the noted biologist, points out in his illuminating introduction, the importance of Darwin's contribution to modern scientific knowledge is almost impossible to evaluate- "a truly great book, one which can still be read with profit by professional biologist." Includes an Introduction by Sir Julian Huxley
Call Number: QH 365 .O2 2009 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2003-09-02
Are We Slaves to Our Genes? by There is a common misconception that our genomes - all unique, except for those in identical twins - have the upper hand in controlling our destiny. The latest genetic discoveries, however, do not support that view. Although genetic variation does influence differences in various human behaviours to a greater or lesser degree, most of the time this does not undermine our genuine free will. Genetic determinism comes into play only in various medical conditions, notably some psychiatric syndromes. Denis Alexander here demonstrates that we are not slaves to our genes. He shows how a predisposition to behave in certain ways is influenced at a molecular level by particular genes. Yet a far greater influence on our behaviours is our world-views that lie beyond science - and that have an impact on how we think the latest genetic discoveries should, or should not, be applied. Written in an engaging style, Alexander's book offers tools for understanding and assessing the latest genetic discoveries critically.
Call Number: QH 442 .A44 2020 - Auburn Hills & Southfield
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
A Manual of the Mammalia by The taxonomy of recent mammals has lately undergone tremendous revision, but it has been almost four decades since the last update to Timothy E. Lawlor's acclaimed identification guide the Handbook to the Orders and Families of Living Mammals. Integrating the latest advances in research, Douglas A. Kelt and James L. Patton provide this long-overdue update in their new, wholly original work, A Manual of the Mammalia. Complemented by global range maps, high-resolution photographs of skulls and mandibles by Bill Stone, and the outstanding artwork of Fiona Reid, this book provides an overview of biological attributes of each higher taxon while highlighting key and diagnostic characters needed to identify skulls and skins of all recent mammalian orders and most families. Kelt and Patton also place taxa in their currently understood supra-familial clades, and discuss current challenges in higher mammal taxonomy. Including a comprehensive review of mammalian anatomy to provide a foundation for understanding all characters employed throughout, A Manual of the Mammalia is both a user-friendly handbook for students learning to identify higher mammal taxa and a uniquely comprehensive, up-to-date reference for mammalogists and mammal-lovers from across the globe.
Call Number: QL 703 .K35 2020 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2020-10-02
Chimpanzee by The chimpanzee is one of our planet's best-loved and most instantly recognisable animals. Splitting from the human lineage between four and six million years ago, it is (along with its cousin, the bonobo) our closest living relative, sharing around 94% of our DNA. First encountered by Westerners in the seventeenth century, virtually nothing was known about chimpanzees in their natural environment until 1960, when Jane Goodall travelled to Gombe to live and work with them. Accessibly written, yet fully referenced and uncompromising in its accuracy and comprehensiveness, this book encapsulates everything we currently know about chimpanzees: from their discovery and why we study them, to their anatomy, physiology, genetics and culture. The text is beautifully illustrated and infused with examples and anecdotes drawn from the author's thirty years of primate observation, making this a perfect resource for students of biological anthropology and primatology as well as non-specialists interested in chimpanzees.
Call Number: QL 737 .P94 H86 2020 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2020-08-20
Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck by Known for its top-notch artwork and readable writing style, Illustrated Anatomy of the Head and Neck, 5th Edition, provides dental assisting and dental hygiene students with complete coverage of head and neck anatomy, plus detailed discussions of the temporomandibular joint and its role in dental health, the anatomy of local anesthesia, and the spread of dental infection. Chapters are organized by anatomical systems of study and include expanded review questions that help prepare you for classroom and board examinations. Combine this new edition with its companion title, Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy, and you will have a solid foundation of basic scientific knowledge that ties to everyday clinical dental practice. Identification exercises at the end of each chapter ask you to label the different structures to test your knowledge of anatomy. Multiple-choice review questions end each chapter and prepare you for board examinations in dental assisting and dental hygiene. Comprehensive coverage provides a solid foundation in head and neck anatomy, with an in-depth discussion of the TMJ and its role in dental health, plus additional material on the anatomy of local anesthesia and the spread of dental infection. Conversational writing style ensures that you easily comprehend complex anatomy and clinical application. Chapters are organized by anatomical systems of study so that discussions progress logically from overviews of the area to the specifics related to the head and neck, providing a solid foundation for learning. Detailed anatomical illustrations and clear, colorful photographs show models and patients within a clinical setting to support text descriptions and help ensure comprehension. Award-winning and trusted author Margaret Fehrenbach curates cutting-edge content and the latest evidence-based information. Key terms and their phonetic pronunciations are highlighted within the chapter and defined in a back-of-book glossary. A how-to appendix with accompanying photos shows you the steps to perform extraoral and intraoral patient examinations. Learning objectives open each chapter with goals to be accomplished, and serve as checkpoints for comprehension, skills mastery, and exam preparedness. NEW and UPDATED! New content and updated chapter discussions include evidence-based information on local anesthesia administration and temporomandibular joint (TMJ) disorders. EXPANDED! Additional end-of-chapter review questions help you assess strengths and weaknesses - and prepare for classroom and board examinations. EXPANDED and REORGANIZED! Clinical content is now woven into the text discussions and expanded within chapters to help reinforce its application to dental treatment, strengthen your critical thinking skills, and better prepare you for clinical encounters. EXPANDED! 36 removable color flashcards offer on-the-go study, with key images on one side and corresponding labels on the back.
Call Number: QM 535 .F44 2017 - Auburn Hills & Highland Lakes
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
Breathing Lessons by An authoritative, accessible guide to how our lungs work and how to protect them. Every day, our lungs circulate 11,000 liters of air, provide us with life-sustaining oxygen, and allow us to speak, sing, and smell. It's no secret that our lungs are one of our most vital organs, and yet most of us pay them little attention. The COVID-19 pandemic, however, has reminded us of the importance of our lungs, and sparked interest in their function and the risks they face. In Breathing Lessons, leading pulmonologist and national spokesperson for the American Lung Association Dr. MeiLan K. Han takes readers on a fascinating tour of this neglected yet crucial organ. Han explains the wonder of breathing and reveals how the lungs serve as the body's first line of defense. She provides a timely overview of the latest scientific thinking about the leading respiratory risks--including indoor and outdoor pollution, smoking and vaping, wildfire smoke, and viruses like SARS-CoV-2--and offers practical advice on how to protect the lungs at each stage of our lives, beginning in the womb. She outlines the major categories of chronic lung disease and demystifies the process lung doctors go through in making a diagnosis and recommending treatments. With authority as both practitioner and medical researcher, Han argues powerfully for social policies that make preserving lung health a national priority. Breathing Lessons is a rallying cry for lung health and an urgent call to start giving our lungs the attention they deserve.
Call Number: QP 121 .H315 2022 - Auburn Hills & Southfield
Publication Date: 2021-11-02
Understanding Nutrition by Prepare for your future career in nutrition with this bestselling text--which makes the science of nutrition relatable and meaningful. UNDERSTANDING NUTRITION makes the sometimes confusing topic of nutrition easy to understand by offering step-by-step coverage of nutrition concepts and related processes. Vivid illustrations and quick-reference nutrition tables make even the most difficult concepts easy to master. With an understanding of nutrition, you can make healthy choices in your daily life and provide others with accurate information in your professional career.
Call Number: QP 141 .W46 2022 - Southfield
Publication Date: 2021-01-01
Immunity by Your essential handbook to staying well in the modern world The immune system is your constant guardian, fighting around the clock to protect you from disease. There's a lot you can do to strengthen this first line of defense against all kinds of threats, from COVID-19 to cancer. Now, immunologist Dr. Jenna Macciochi gives us a crash course on how the immune system actually works--and how to keep yours in shape--with authoritative guidance on: the best foods to eat to strengthen your immune system the importance of movement, and how often to exercise the essential link between immunity and sleep its surprising connection to your mental health.
Call Number: QR 181 .M28 2020 - Orchard Ridge
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
The Vaccine by Winners of the Paul Ehrlich Prize The dramatic story of the married scientists who founded BioNTech and developed the first vaccine against COVID-19. Nobody thought it was possible. In mid-January 2020, Ugur Sahin told Ã-zlem TÃ¼reci, his wife and decades-long research partner, that a vaccine against what would soon be known as COVID-19 could be developed and safely injected into the arms of millions before the end of the year. His confidence was built upon almost thirty years of research. While working to revolutionize the way that cancerous tumors are treated, the couple had explored a volatile and overlooked molecule called messenger RNA; they believed it could be harnessed to redirect the immune system's forces against any number of diseases. As the founders of BioNTech, they faced widespread skepticism from the scientific community at first; but by the time Sars-Cov-2 was discovered in Wuhan, China, BioNTech was prepared to deploy cutting edge technology and create the world's first clinically approved inoculation for the coronavirus. The Vaccine draws back the curtain on one of the most important medical breakthroughs of our age; it will reveal how Doctors Sahin and TÃ¼reci were able to develop twenty vaccine candidates within weeks, convince Big Pharma to support their ambitious project, navigate political interference from the Trump administration and the European Union, and provide more than three billion doses of the Pfizer/BioNTech vaccine to countries around the world in record time. Written by Joe Miller--the Financial Times' Frankfurt correspondent who covered BioNTech's COVID-19 project in real time--with contributions from Sahin and TÃ¼reci, as well as interviews with more than sixty scientists, politicians, public health officials, and BioNTech staff, the book covers key events throughout the extraordinary year, as well as exploring the scientific, economic, and personal background of each medical innovation. Crafted to be both completely accessible to the average reader and filled with details that will fascinate seasoned microbiologists, The Vaccine explains the science behind the breakthrough, at a time when public confidence in vaccine safety and efficacy is crucial to bringing an end to this pandemic.
Call Number: QR 189.5 .V5 M55 2022 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2022-02-01