NEW June Books
How We Read Now by An engaging and authoritative guide to the impact of reading medium on learning, from a foremost expert in the fieldWe face constant choices about how we read. Educators must select classroom materials. College students weigh their textbook options. Parents make decisions for their children. The digital revolution has transformed reading, and with the recent turn to remote learning, onscreen reading may seem likethe only viable option. Yet selecting digital is often based on cost or convenience, not on educational evidence. Now more than ever it is imperative to understand how reading medium actually impacts learning - and what strategies we need in order to read effectively in all formats.In How We Read Now, Naomi Baron draws on a wealth of knowledge and research to explain important differences in the way we concentrate, understand, and remember across multiple formats. Mobilizing work from international scholarship along with findings from her own studies of reading practices,Baron addresses key challenges - from student complaints that print is boring to the hazards of digital reading for critical thinking. Rather than arguing for one format over another, she explains how we read and learn in different settings, shedding new light on the current state of reading. Thebook then crucially connects research insights to concrete applications, offering practical approaches for maximizing learning with print, digital text, audio, and video.Since screens and audio are now entrenched--and invaluable-platforms for reading, we need to rethink ways of helping readers at all stages use them more wisely. How We Read Now shows us how to do that.
Call Number: Z 1033 .E43 B369 2021 - Orchard Ridge & Royal Oak
Publication Date: 2021-03-22
The Color of a Flea's Eye: the Picture Collection by Taryn Simon's The Color of a Flea's Eye presents a history of the New York Public Library's Picture Collection-a legendary trove of more than one million prints, photographs, postcards, posters and images from disused books and periodicals. Since its inception in 1915, the Picture Collection has been a vital resource for writers, historians, artists, filmmakers, fashion designers and advertising agencies. In her work The Picture Collection (2012-20), Simon highlighted the impulse to organise visual information, and pointed to the invisible hands behind seemingly neutral systems of image gathering. Each of Simon's photographs is made up of an array of images selected from a given subject folder, such as Chiaroscuro, Handshaking, Haircombing, Express Highways, Financial Panics, Israel, and Beards and Moustaches. In artfully overlapped compositions, only slices of the individual images are visible, each fragment suggesting its whole. Simon sees this extensive archive of images as the precursor to internet search engines. Such an unlikely futurity in the past is at the core of the Picture Collection. The digital is foreshadowed in the analogue, at the same time that history-its classifications, its contents-seems the stuff of projection. Simon spent years sifting through letters, memos and records that reveal an untold story between the library and artists, media, government and a broader public. These documents also divulge the removal and transfer of photographs from the democratically circulating picture collection folders to the photography collection in the late 1980s when their marketplace value became apparent. Simon's selection of photographs from these transfers highlights gender, immigration, race and economy in America alongside the technical development of photography.
Call Number: Z 664 .N499 S56 2020 - Royal Oak
Publication Date: 2020-12-01
Using Technology in the Library Workplace by Libraries today, regardless of their type or location, are reliant on technology. Almost every process or procedure in the library is dependent upon skilled use of computers, hardware, and software. Integrated library and discovery systems enable patrons to manage activities such as creating lists and holds, to perform self-checkout, and to search multiple library catalogs and databases simultaneously. This text is written for the library support staff who are the backbone of technology success. Each chapter provides a practical overview of how the technology advances library services. With abundant examples of how to apply the technology in real situations, it is an essential handbook for students entering into the library profession as well as for those who seek to become more confident and competent with these technologies and more: -Computer hardware and peripherals -Integrated Library and Discovery systems -Software applications -Open Source -Cloud Computing -Mobile applications -Networking Infrastructure -Online Meetings -Social Media -Mobile Technologies -Digital media equipment -STEM/STEAM Makerspaces -Coding and Robotics -Cybersecurity The Library Support Staff series is aimed for staff that work in libraries and want to enhance their skills, college professors who teach library support staff instruction, and students who seek new learning in the library profession. Each book in the series addresses a specific topic in an academic curriculum for library support staff. Content of each book in the series is aligned with American Library Association competencies for accredited programs and learning for library support staff (ALA-LSSC). The text is written in clear language with practical examples of how performance can contribute to exemplary library service.
Call Number: Z 678.9 .S47 2021 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2021-07-07
The Disaster Planning Handbook for Libraries by Libraries are in a unique position to aid communities during times of adversity, and this comprehensive handbook's practical tools and expert guidance will help ensure that your library is thoroughly prepared for emergency response and recovery. Your library is a vital information hub and resource provider every single day, and that's doubly true when calamity strikes. In fact, your library's role as an "essential community function" during disasters is now encoded in U.S. law. Engaging as a partner in planning and preparedness will build much-needed community support should disaster strike, and even a basic plan will also save you time and stress later on. No matter where your library is in the disaster planning cycle, this handbook will make the process clearer and less daunting. You'll get tools, activities, easy-to-adapt templates, and hands-on guidance on such topics as the six phases of disaster response; 15 first-hand accounts of library disaster planning or responses, helping you identify the library services most needed during a disaster; three essential factors that will shape the form of your disaster plan; preparing for hurricanes, tornadoes, fires, floods, and earthquakes; ideas for connecting with your community's emergency response teams; federal government planning resources; pointers on working with state and local governments; a sample Memorandum of Understanding to outline mutual support for a speedier recovery; recommended courses and training, many of which are free; targeted advice for archives and special collections; sample building inspection checklists; and recommended games to help children and families prepare.
Call Number: Z 679.7 .F57 2022 - Orchard Ridge
Publication Date: 2021-10-12
MORE NEW June Books
The Black Librarian in America by The Black Librarian in America: Reflections, Resistance, and Reawakening is the latest in the powerful line of The Black Librarian in America volumes. While previous editions we organized around library types, this edition is organized in four thematic sections" -A Rich Heritage: Black Librarian History -Celebrating Collective and Individual Identity -Black Librarians across Settings -Moving Forward: Activism, Anti-Racism, and Allyship" Issues pertaining to Black librarians' intersectional identities, capacities, and contributions take center stage. The Black Librarian in America: Reflections, Resistance, and Reawakening is not only the first edition to be edited entirely by Black women, but it is officially produced by BCALA members in commemoration of the organization's 50th anniversary. Dr. Carla Hayden (14th Librarian of Congress) and Julius Jefferson, Jr. (president of the American Library Association for the 2020-2021 term) contribute moving foreword and afterword segments.
Call Number: Z 682.4 .A37 B575 2022 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2022-02-18
Fundamentals of Library Instruction by In this book, veteran instruction services librarian McAdoo lays out the fundamentals of the discipline in easily accessible language.
Call Number: Z 711.2 .M33 2012 - Auburn Hills, Orchard Ridge & Southfield
Publication Date: 2012-04-09
Librarian's Guide to Online Searching by Updates the premier textbook for students and librarians needing to know the landscape of current databases and how to search them. Librarians need to know of existing databases, and they must be able to teach search capabilities and strategies to library users. This practical guide introduces librarians to a broad spectrum of fee-based and freely available databases and explains how to teach them. The updated 6th edition of this well-regarded text covers new databases on the market as well as updates to older databases. It also explains underlying information structures and demonstrates how to search most effectively. It introduces readers to several recent changes, such as the move away from metadata-based indexing to full text indexing by vendors covering newspaper content. Business databases receive greater emphasis. As in the previous edition, this book takes a real-world approach, covering topics from basic and advanced search tools to online subject databases. Each chapter includes a thorough discussion, a recap, concrete examples, exercises, and points to consider, making it an ideal text for courses in database searching as well as a trustworthy professional resource. Helps librarians and students understand the latest developments in library databases Looks not only at textual databases but also numerical, image, video, and social media resources Includes changes and trends in database functionality since the 5th edition
Call Number: ZA 4460 .B45 2021 - Auburn Hills, Orchard Ridge & Southfield
Publication Date: 2021-06-18