NEW August Books!
TOEFL Practice Exercises by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Barron's TOEFL Practice Exercises provides students with more than 1,000 practice questions for both the ITP (Institutional TOEFL Program) and the iBT (Internet Based TOEFL). This book has the tips, strategies, and practice you need to succeed on the TOEFL: Explanatory answers for all questions: The exercises break down each question and show you how to answer it smartly and quickly Example essays and speaking responses One full-length ITP practice test with instructions for evaluating answers and determining a test score. One full-length iBT practice test with instructions for evaluating answers and determining a test score. The top 100 academic vocabulary words on the TOEFL, along with ten exercises to test proficiency.
Call Number: PE 1128 .S524 2020 - Auburn Hills ESL
Publication Date: 2020-10-06
The St. Martin's Guide to Writing by
PART 1: Writing Activities -- PART 2: Critical Thinking Strategies -- PART 3: Writing Strategies -- PART 4: Research Strategies -- PART 5: Composing Strategies for College and Beyond.
Call Number: PE 1408 .A94 2022 - Orchard Ridge
Publication Date: 2021-09-24
Everything's an Argument by
Preface -- Part 1. Reading and understanding arguments. Understanding arguments and reading them critically -- Arguments based on emotion : pathos -- Arguments based on character : ethos -- Arguments based on facts and reason : logos -- Fallacies of argument -- Rhetorical analysis -- Part 2. Writing arguments. Structuring arguments -- Arguments of fact -- Arguments of definition -- Evaluations -- Causal arguments -- Proposals -- Part 3. Style and presentation in arguments. Style in arguments -- Visual rhetoric -- Presenting arguments -- New media and multimodal arguments -- Part 4. Research and arguments. Academic arguments -- Finding evidence -- Evaluating sources -- Using sources -- Maintaining academic integrity and crediting sources -- Documenting sources -- Glossary.
Argument is all around us-in school hallways and on social media, from capitol buildings to television newsrooms. With lively, real-world examples on topics that matter, Everything's an Argument helps you listen-really listen-to the arguments that affect you and provides the tools to respond, challenge, and explore your own.
Call Number: PE 1431 .L862 2022 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2021-11-04
The Merriam-Webster Dictionary by
This authoritative dictionary coves the core vocabulary of everyday life and is a must-have for every bookshelf. Features more than 75,000 clear and precise definitions, including new words from a variety of fields Pronunciations, word origins, synonym lists, and over 8,000 usage examples to aid understanding A Guide to Irregular English Verbs, English Word Roots, and Confused & Misused Words are helpful for English-language learners Special features include A Handbook of Style, Basic English Grammar, and An Overview of the Internet
Call Number: PE 1628 .M353 2019 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2019-06-01
The Soviet Writers' Union and Its Leaders by
Winner, University of Southern California Book Prize in Literary and Cultural Studies The Soviet Writers' Union offered writers elite status and material luxuries in exchange for literature that championed the state. This book argues that Soviet ruler Joseph Stalin chose leaders for this crucial organization, such as Maxim Gorky and Alexander Fadeyev, who had psychological traits he could exploit. Stalin ensured their loyalty with various rewards but also with a philosophical argument calculated to assuage moral qualms, allowing them to feel they were not trading ethics for self‑interest. Employing close textual analysis of public and private documents including speeches, debate transcripts, personal letters, and diaries, Carol Any exposes the misgivings of Writers' Union leaders as well as the arguments they constructed when faced with a cognitive dissonance. She tells a dramatic story that reveals the interdependence of literary policy, communist morality, state‑sponsored terror, party infighting, and personal psychology. This book will be an important reference for scholars of the Soviet Union as well as anyone interested in identity, the construction of culture, and the interface between art and ideology.
Call Number: PG 2920 .S68 A59 2020 - Highland Lakes
Publication Date: 2020-10-15
Hindi-English/English-Hindi Dictionary and Phrasebook by
Includes over 4,000 dictionary entries and a handy phrasebook that covers transportation, dining, shopping, and more. Ideal for tourists, students, and business travelers.
Call Number: PK 1936 .S42 2003 - Auburn Hills REFERENCE & STACKS
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Careers in Writing and Editing by
A career in writing and editing offers opportunities far beyond the classic paths of novelists, poets, and reporters. In fact, there is a wide array of options for those with a desire to work in this field, even as traditional print publications, like newspapers and magazines, evolve into online platforms. This volume considers the changing landscape of work opportunities for writers and editors, including freelance, remote, and contract work for writers and editors; photo and video editing; copyediting and proofreading; scriptwriting; assessment writing; grant writing; indexing; and more.
Call Number: PN 151 .C37 2020 - Auburn Hills CAREER
Publication Date: 2020-06-30
Cinemas of Boyhood by
Drawing from political sociology, pop psychology, and film studies, Cinemas of Boyhood explores the important yet often overlooked subject of boys and boyhood in film. This collected volume features an eclectic range of films from British and Indian cinemas to silent Hollywood and the new Hollywood of the 1980s, culminating in a comprehensive overview of the diverse concerns surrounding representations of boyhood in film.
Call Number: PN 1995.9 .B7 C56 2021 - Auburn Hills & Orchard Ridge
Publication Date: 2021-01-13
Cinema Expanded by
Expanded cinema: avant-garde moving image works that claim new territory for the cinematic, beyond the bounds of familiar filmmaking practices and the traditional theatrical exhibition space. First emerging in the 1960s amidst seismic shifts in the arts, multi-screen films, live cinematic performance, light art, kinetic art, video, and computer-generated imagery - all placed under expanded cinema's umbrella - re-emerged at the dawn of the 2000s, opening a vast new horizon of possibility for the moving image, and perhaps even heralding the end of cinema as we know it. Cinema Expanded: Avant-Garde Film in the Age of Intermedia offers a bold new account of its subject, breaking from previous studies and from larger trends in film and art scholarship. Author Jonathan Walley argues that expanded cinema's apparent departure from the traditions and forms of cinema as we know it actually radically asserts cinema's nature and artistic autonomy. Walley also resituates expanded cinema within the context of avant-garde film history, linking it to a mode of filmmaking that has historically investigated and challenged the nature and limits of cinematic form. As an outgrowth of this tradition, expanded cinema offered a means for filmmakers within the avant-garde, regardless of their differing styles, formal concerns, and politics, to stake out cinema's unique aesthetic terrain - its ontology, its independence, its identity. In addition to reconsidering the better-known expanded cinema works of the 1960s and 70s by artists like Andy Warhol, Robert Whitman, and Nam June Paik, Cinema Expanded also provides the first scholarly accounts of scores of lesser-known works across more than 50 years. Making new arguments about avant-garde cinema in general and its complex meditations on the nature of cinema, it urgently addresses current and crucial debates about the fate of the moving image amidst a digital age of near-constant technological change.
Call Number: PN 1995.9 .E96 W26 2020 - Auburn Hills & Orchard Ridge
Publication Date: 2020-07-01
MORE NEW August Books!
Men out of focus : the Soviet masculinity crisis in the long sixties by
What Was Stalinist Masculinity and Why Did It Change? -- Being a Dad Is Not for Sissies -- Fathers versus Sons, or, the Great Soviet Family in Trouble -- The Trouble with Women: Consumerism and the Death of Rugged Masculinity -- Our Friend the Atom? Science as a Threat to Masculinity -- De-Heroization and the Pan-European Masculinity Crisis.
"Men Out of Focus charts conversations and polemics about masculinity in Soviet cinema and popular media during the liberal period--often described as "The Thaw"--between the death of Stalin in 1953 and the invasion of Czechoslovakia in 1968. The book shows how the filmmakers of the long 1960s built stories around male protagonists who felt disoriented by a world that was becoming increasingly suburbanized, rebellious, consumerist, household-oriented, and scientifically complex. The dramatic tension of 1960s cinema revolved around the male protagonists' inability to navigate the challenges of postwar life. Selling over three billion tickets annually, the Soviet film industry became a fault line of postwar cultural contestation. By examining both the discussions surrounding the period's most controversial movies as well as the cultural context in which these debates happened, the book captures the official and popular reactions to the dizzying transformations of Soviet society after Stalin."--
Call Number: PN 1995.9 .M34 D86 2021 - Highland Lakes
Publication Date: 2021
The Limits of #MeToo in Hollywood by
In October 2017, actress Alyssa Milano sparked the #MeToo movement. The ensuing protests quickly encompassed far more than Harvey Weinstein and the entertainment industry. They expressed women's outrage at male workplace behavior in every sector and social class and even helped elect a new generation of women leaders in 2018. But what has been the effect of #MeToo in the entertainment industry itself? This book traces the movement's influence on the stories being told, on changing representations of women's lives and bodies, and on the slow changes among the producers who shape the stories. Analyzing a wide set of TV and film genres--including crime, legal and medical dramas, comedies, horror and reality programming--this book covers the complex ways that media respond to social movements: They sometimes give voice to brand-new or previously silenced stories, but just as often make facile references that can blunt the potential for change, or even fuel cultural backlash.
Call Number: PN 1995.9 .W6 T35 2021 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2021-06-28
The updated bestselling biography--based on over six hundred interviews--and the inspiration for the Netflix documentary, The Mystery of Marilyn Monroe. Marilyn Monroe, born in obscurity and deprivation, became an actress and legend of the twentieth century, romantically linked to famous men from Joe DiMaggio to Arthur Miller to John F. Kennedy. But her tragic death at a young age, under suspicious circumstances, left behind a mystery that remains unsolved to this day. Anthony Summers interviewed more than six hundred people, laying bare the truths--sometimes funny, often sad--about this brilliant, troubled woman. The first to gain access to the files of Monroe's last psychiatrist, Summers uses the documents to explain her tangled psyche and her dangerous addiction to medications. He establishes, after years of mere rumor, that President Kennedy and his brother Robert were both intimately involved with Monroe in life--and in covering up the circumstances of her death. Written and updated by a Pulitzer Prize nominee who has authored works on JFK, J. Edgar Hoover, and the 9/11 attacks, this investigation of an iconic star's brief life and early death is "remarkable. . . . The ghost of Marilyn Monroe cries out in these pages" (The New York Times). Netflix's The Mystery of Marilyn Monroe will cement this work as the definitive biography of the unforgettable woman.
Call Number: PN 2287 .M69 S86 2022 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2013-06-18
The Psychology of Fake News by
This volume examines the phenomenon of fake news by bringing together leading experts from different fields within psychology and related areas, and explores what has become a prominent feature of public discourse since the first Brexit referendum and the 2016 US election campaign. Dealing with misinformation is important in many areas of daily life, from politics and the marketplace to health communication, journalism, education, and science. At a time when facts and misinformation blur, and are intentionally blurred, this book asks what determines whether people accept and share (mis)information, and what can be done to counter misinformation? Experts from psychology and related behavioural sciences summarize key empirical findings, theories, and applications, and discuss cutting‐edge ideas. They shed light on what contributes to the acceptance and the sharing of fake news, and emphasize the critical role of online social networks in recent years. Their insights provide guidance on how to handle misinformation in an age of "alternative facts," making this book a fascinating and vital reading for students, academics, and practitioners in psychology, education, communication, journalism, public health, policy making, and political science.
Call Number: PN 4784 .F27 P79 2021 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2020-09-25
The Modern Myths by
With The Modern Myths, brilliant science communicator Philip Ball spins a new yarn. From novels and comic books to B-movies, it is an epic exploration of literature, new media and technology, the nature of storytelling, and the making and meaning of our most important tales. Myths are usually seen as stories from the depths of time--fun and fantastical, but no longer believed by anyone. Yet, as Philip Ball shows, we are still writing them--and still living them--today. From Robinson Crusoe and Frankenstein to Batman, many stories written in the past few centuries are commonly, perhaps glibly, called "modern myths." But Ball argues that we should take that idea seriously. Our stories of Dracula, Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and Sherlock Holmes are doing the kind of cultural work that the ancient myths once did. Through the medium of narratives that all of us know in their basic outline and which have no clear moral or resolution, these modern myths explore some of our deepest fears, dreams, and anxieties. We keep returning to these tales, reinventing them endlessly for new uses. But what are they really about, and why do we need them? What myths are still taking shape today? And what makes a story become a modern myth? In The Modern Myths, Ball takes us on a wide-ranging tour of our collective imagination, asking what some of its most popular stories reveal about the nature of being human in the modern age.
Call Number: PN 56 .M94 B35 2021 - Auburn Hills & Highland Lakes
Publication Date: 2021-05-21
The Ruins Lesson by
How have ruins become so valued in Western culture and so central to our art and literature? Covering a vast chronological and geographical range, from ancient Egyptian inscriptions to twentieth-century memorials, Susan Stewart seeks to answer this question as she traces the appeal of ruins and ruins images, and the lessons that writers and artists have drawn from their haunting forms. Stewart takes us on a sweeping journey through founding legends of broken covenants and original sin, the Christian appropriation of the classical past, and images of decay in early modern allegory. Stewart looks in depth at the works of Goethe, Piranesi, Blake, and Wordsworth, each of whom found in ruins a means of reinventing his art. Lively and engaging, The Ruins Lesson ultimately asks what can resist ruination--and finds in the self-transforming, ever-fleeting practices of language and thought a clue to what might truly endure.
Call Number: PN 56 .R87 S74 2020 - Highland Lakes
Publication Date: 2020-01-07
Ms. Marvel's America by
Contributions by José Alaniz, Jessica Baldanzi, Eric Berlatsky, Peter E. Carlson, Sika A. Dagbovie-Mullins, Antero Garcia, Aaron Kashtan, Winona Landis, A. David Lewis, Martin Lund, Shabana Mir, Kristin M. Peterson, Nicholaus Pumphrey, Hussein Rashid, and J. Richard Stevens Mainstream superheroes are becoming more and more diverse, with new identities for Spider-Man, Captain America, Thor, and Iron Man. Though the Marvel-verse is becoming much more racially, ethnically, and gender diverse, many of these comics remain shy about religion. The new Ms. Marvel, Kamala Khan, is a notable exception, not only because she is written and conceived by two women, Sana Amanat and G. Willow Wilson, but also because both of these women bring their own experiences as Muslim Americans to the character. This distinct collection brings together scholars from a range of disciplines including literature, cultural studies, religious studies, pedagogy, and communications to engage with a single character, exploring Khan's significance for a broad readership. While acknowledged as the first Muslim superhero to headline her own series, her character appears well-developed and multifaceted in many other ways. She is the first character to take over an established superhero persona, Ms. Marvel, without a reboot of the series or death of the original character. The teenager is also a second-generation immigrant, born to parents who arrived in New Jersey from Pakistan. With essays from and about diverse voices on an array of topics from fashion to immigration history to fandom, this volume includes an exclusive interview with Ms. Marvel author and cocreator G. Willow Wilson by gender studies scholar Shabana Mir.
Call Number: PN 6714 .M75 2020 - Auburn Hills & Highland Lakes
Publication Date: 2020-03-30
Black to Nature by
In Black to Nature: Pastoral Return and African American Culture, author Stefanie K. Dunning considers both popular and literary texts that range from Beyoncé's Lemonade to Jesmyn Ward's Salvage the Bones. These key works restage Black women in relation to nature. Dunning argues that depictions of protagonists who return to pastoral settings contest the violent and racist history that incentivized Black disavowal of the natural world. Dunning offers an original theoretical paradigm for thinking through race and nature by showing that diverse constructions of nature in these texts are deployed as a means of rescrambling the teleology of the Western progress narrative. In a series of fascinating close readings of contemporary Black texts, she reveals how a range of artists evoke nature to suggest that interbeing with nature signals a call for what Jared Sexton calls ""the dream of Black Studies""-abolition. Black to Nature thus offers nuanced readings that advance an emerging body of critical and creative work at the nexus of Blackness, gender, and nature. Written in a clear, approachable, and multilayered style that aims to be as poignant as nature itself, the volume offers a unique combination of theoretical breadth, narrative beauty, and broader perspective that suggests it will be a foundational text in a new critical turn towards framing nature within a cultural studies context.
Call Number: PS 153 .N5 D857 2021 - Highland Lakes
Publication Date: 2021-05-30
Miss Chloe by
"Passionate, personal, insightful, testy, and unique." --Kirkus (starred review) "Verdelle offers us testimony in praise and consideration of life as a literary citizen and Black woman alongside the guiding light of Toni Morrison. This is a holy testimony, indeed, one that deserves to be amen'd forever." --Jason Reynolds, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author "Verdelle gives us the greatest gift--our beloved ancestor returned to us--generous and alive, remembered and revered. So grateful for this book in the world." --Jacqueline Woodson, author of Another Brooklyn "If you let a black girl loose in a library, you may not recognize the woman who emerges." --from Miss Chloe Toni Morrison, born Chloe A Wofford, was a towering figure in the world of literature when she entered A.J. Verdelle's life. Their literary friendship was a young writer's dream--simultaneously exhilarating, intimidating, fulfilling, and challenging. The relationship crossed generations, spanned several cycles in life, exhibited high and low notes, reached and dipped and found its way. Like many women friends, these two writers imagined and built a relationship that was responsive, inventive, and engaged. Miss Chloe powerfully situates the risks writers face and the freedom they find when they put Black women's lives into words. Verdelle chronicles her grief at Morrison's passing, and finds comfort in Morrison's astute advice--wisdom Verdelle didn't always recognize at the time. In this pensive and intricately lyrical book, Verdelle honors Morrison among the cultural greats, while illuminating and celebrating the power of language, legacy, and genius. A. J. Verdelle is the award-winning author of the novel, The Good Negress. She teaches Creative Writing at Morgan State University and at the MFA program at Lesley University.
Call Number: PS 3572 .E63 Z46 2022 - Southfield
Publication Date: 2022-05-10