Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oakland Community College Home

Libraries

Find Books / Library Catalog | Find Articles / Databases | Research Guides | Libraries Home
Fall 2022 Library Service Updates

Tony Baracco - Virtual Exchange Project Resources HIS 1520 Fall 2021: Articles

Find Articles / Databases

Articles are a great way to further explore topics you are researching. Below are suggested databases for finding journal and magazine articles. If prompted, enter your OCC username and password.

 

How to Search JSTOR

JSTOR: a unique database that allows you to limit your search to only History journals.  
1.    Enter your search terms such as British colonialism AND India independence at the top of the page.
2.    Narrow by:  Articles (optional, there are also book chapters)
3.    Scroll down until you see History (also optional) and check that box. Search.
4.    To view and save an article, browse the results and click on an article.
5.    Click on “download pdf” to read the article or save it to a drive.
6.    Note the “DOI” or “stable URL” for entering into your citation list.

JSTOR Database Tutorial

Specialized Databases

General Databases

Select your database. If asked for a password, use your OCC Online Services ID and password (the same one you use to register for classes and check  grades).

Keep Calm and Ask A Librarian 24/7

Words for Searches

Experiment with keywords for your searches.  Try variations to find better results.

Jawaharlal Nehru

guerilla warfare

colonialism

British rule

nationalist movement
independence movement

non-violent protest

partition

transfer of power in India

counterinsurgency
forming a government

Battle of Dien Bien Phu  

Poland borders AND Germany

OCC is committed to empowering our students to succeed and advancing our community.
©2022 Oakland Community College, OAKLAND COMMUNITY COLLEGE / 2480 OPDYKE ROAD, BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI 48304, 248.341.2000
Privacy Statement | Mission, Values & Vision | Accreditations | Webmaster