Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Primary Source?
ArtSTOR Image Database
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Find artifacts and photographs for primary sources. Go to Advanced Search.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Use search box and enter "primary sources" and [your topic] to find digital copies of primary sources with background information.
Primary Source Documents & Photographs: American History
American Presidency Project
Public papers, presidential elections, inaugural addresses and more.
Digital Michigan Newspaper Portal
Digitized historical Michigan newspapers from CMU's Clarke Historical Library and Chronicling America, a national newspaper digital project from Library of Congress.
Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade
Explore the data and life stories of 600,000+ people records from archives, databases, and collections. With companion Journal of Slavery and Data Preservation.
Founders Online: Writings of Six Major Shapers of the United States
Writings in the National Archives of George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, and James Madison.
LIbrary of Congress > Digital Collections
Formerly, American Memory. Historical Collections from the Library of Congress, including many excellent photographs.
National Archives and Records Administration
This agency, the official preserver of Federal records, provides access to many documents of historical interest.
National Museum of the American Indian
Search for artifacts and photos in the Smithsonian collection.
Milestone documents in American history
A multimedia archive of the Supreme Court from Cornell's Legal Information Institute and Justia. It has all of the Court’s audio since October 1955, searchable and with transcripts. It has case summaries,full-text Supreme Court opinions, and provides detailed information on every justice in the Court’s history.
Primary Sources in eBooks
American Eras: Primary Sources Series: