Additional CSS for sizing and position in Look & Feel > Custom CSS
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Help with APA Style - 7th edition
APA Format for OCC Nursing Students
About Citation Machines
Alert! Results from a citation machine are only as good as the details you plug in! They are unable to tell errors you make. Be sure to check your results against APA guidelines.
About “Cite” or “Citation” Links in databases or Search Everything
Alert! Citations created for sources in databases or the Search Everything Library Catalog are often wrong. Be sure to check your results against APA Guidelines for the edition your instructor requires.
Books @ OCC Libraries
Try these books, available in OCC Libraries, for more help on citing your sources.
Cite Right, Third Edition by Cite Right is the perfect guide for anyone who needs to learn a new citation style or who needs an easy reference to Chicago, MLA, APA, AMA, and other styles. Each chapter serves as a quick guide that introduces the basics of a style, explains who might use it, and then presents an abundance of examples. This edition includes updates reflecting the most recent editions of The Chicago Manual of Style and the MLA Handbook. With this book, students and researchers can move smoothly among styles with the confidence they are getting it right.
Call Number: PN 171 .F56 L55 2018
Publication Date: 2018-11-20
Citing Sources with APA Documentation by What Every Student Should Know About Citing Sources with APA Documentation provides specific instructions on writing and referencing in the American Psychological Association (APA) style and reflects APA's 2009 updates. This booklet offers an example APA manuscript and also offers exercises to allow the reader to practice using the various components of APA style.
Call Number: BF 76.7 .A55 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-14
Pocket Keys for Writers by Get big writing help in a small package with POCKET KEYS FOR WRITERS. Based on the authors' research and experience in the college writing classroom, this book offers everything you need to improve your writing. The sixth edition features three new extended examples to help you build important critical thinking skills that will serve you well in your college writing and beyond. From navigating the research process to understanding the mechanics of writing and using punctuation to finding and documenting print and electronic source materials, POCKET KEYS FOR WRITERS assembles concise and practical information in one clear, easy-to-use handbook that you'll find yourself turning to again and again.
Call Number: PE 1408 .R165 2018
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: BF 76.7 .P83 2020
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers, Fifth Edition by Students of all levels need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate L. Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. For its fifth edition, Chicago has reconceived and renewed this classic work for today's generation. Addressing the same range of topics as Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations but for beginning writers and researchers, this guide introduces students to the art of formulating an effective argument, conducting high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging class paper. This new edition includes fresh examples of research topics, clarified terminology, more illustrations, and new information about using online sources and citation software. It features updated citation guidelines for Chicago, MLA, and APA styles, aligning with the latest editions of these popular style manuals. It emphasizes argument, research, and writing as extensions of activities that students already do in their everyday lives. It also includes a more expansive view of what the end product of research might be, showing that knowledge can be presented in more ways than on a printed page. Friendly and authoritative, the fifth edition of Student's Guide to Writing College Papers combines decades of expert advice with new revisions based on feedback from students and teachers. Time-tested and teacher-approved, this book will prepare students to be better critical thinkers and help them develop a sense of inquiry that will serve them well beyond the classroom.
Call Number: LB2369 .T82 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-28