LibGuides: Nursing: Evidence-Based Practice (EBP)

Best Databases for EBP Research

CINAHL Plus With Full Text
OCC subscription database
Limit your search to articles with a focus on EBP by selecting the Evidence-Based Practice Box in the “Limit your results” section under "Filters".

(EBSCOhost) 1937 - present. Full-text from more than 770 nursing and allied health journals.
PubMed

From the National Library of Medicine & National Institutes of Health, PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Science Direct
How to use this database

(Elsevier) Full-text generally from 2000s - present, with abstracts much earlier. Online journals in the health sciences and life sciences.
Trip Medical Database

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

Are you looking for more background information on Evidence Based Practice? Take a look at these EBP e-books available through the OCC Libraries .

Cochrane Library
Contains reviews of research in health care and health policy. Browse by topic or search by keyword.
Joanna Briggs Institute
Search the database of systematic reviews for evidence based research
Registered Nurses Association of Ontario
Evidence based best practice guidelines. Search by keyword or browse by topic using the search box in the center of the page.
Sigma Global Nursing e-Repository
A repository of evidence based resources sponsored by the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
A volunteer panel of national experts that makes evidence based recommendations about clinical preventive services.
VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines
Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines developed by the Veterans Health Administration.

EBP Levels of Evidence
Not sure what level of evidence a resource is?
The pyramid will help!

Evidence Based Practice Library Research Handout
Make the most of your research time! Review this handout for tips on searching library databases and credible websites for EBP resources

Questions?

A Reference Librarian is available

all hours the library is open:

M & Tu 8am to 8pm; W, Th, & F 8am to 5pm

Come in, or call (248) 942-3126

Feel free to contact Beth Garnsey directly at

I would be happy to arrange a time to meet with you or your group

in person or via Zoom!