Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alternative Medicine E-Books
Alternative Medicine by Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM) today attracts significant attention through online health and consumer forums, professional CAM-practitioner associations and conferences, the recent growth in integrative biomedicine, and through the influence of advertisements and documentary presentations in mass media. A majority or large minority of consumers in developed countries regularly resort to professional CAM for supportive treatment for sickness in the form of chiropractic, osteopathic, prescribed dietary changes, acupuncture, massage, homeopathy, naturopathy and herbal medicine, and also use numerous associated lifestyle practices such as vegetarianism, nutritional supplementation, yoga and tai chi for self-treatment and to maintain general wellbeing. Many leading health insurance funds now provide generous rebates against out-of-pocket fees paid by consumers for private-sector CAM consultations. Furthermore, populations of developing countries continue to depend heavily on traditional herbal medicine and psycho-spiritual practices for their healing, on account of pharmaceutical treatments being often unaffordable or unavailable to them. Chapters of this book include literature reviews (such as study findings about the benefits of CAM for elderly persons and of laughter therapy, from the USA, and herbal treatments for pain, in Mauritius), and original studies (poor CAM consumers in Australia, the location of naturopaths' practice in Canada, and the use of mindfulness meditation among nursing students in Scotland). Study findings presented here are enjoyable in their diversity, and add to contemporary literature both by presenting common perceptions about CAM, by engaging in discussion of its prevalence and popularity in diverse contexts, and the contentious topic of placebo effect and the questions that arise as to how to prove effectiveness for alternative healing methods, while reviewing some potential clinical benefits.
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Complementary and Alternative Medicine and Kidney Health by The diagnosis and treatment of disease is a primary concern for health professionals and all of society. With the growing use of alternative medicine, patients can receive a wider scope of potential treatment options. Complementary and Alternative Medicine and Kidney Health provides a thorough examination on the application of alternative medicine in conventional hospital settings with a focus on kidney diseases. Including a range of academic perspectives on topics such as decision management, herbal-drug reactions, and chronic illnesses, this book is an ideal reference source for medical practitioners, professionals, students, researchers, and nurses interested in scientific evidence on the benefits of complementary and alternative medicine.
Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Complementary and Alternative Therapies in Nursing, Eight Edition by Now in its eighth edition, this highly acclaimed, newly revised and expanded text continues to deliver innovative practice guidelines for evidence-based complementary and alternative therapies that can easily be incorporated into curriculum and applied directly to practice. The book describes holistic treatments that are culturally appropriate for clients across the life span and NCLEX(R)-relevant content appropriate for preparation of advanced practice nurses. The eighth edition reflects an expanding interest in these therapies worldwide and features numerous sidebars by international contributors who provide a global perspective that builds readers' understanding of the cultural derivations and uses of complementary therapies. The new edition also highlights digital and technical advances, provides key updates to foundations for practice, and describes cutting-edge research. Included is a description of the evolution and establishment of the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) and its current national agenda. Updated legal information regarding regulation and credentialing, enlarged safety and precaution content, and the inclusion of a broad range of therapies add to the utility of this new edition. The only book about complementary and alternative therapies written specifically for nurses that focuses on essential evidence for practice, the text uses a consistent format to present a definition and description of each therapy, a summary of how it evolved, and a rationale for its use. The scientific basis and research evidence for use of each therapy in a variety of specific patient populations is emphasized. Sidebars in each chapter describe the use of various therapies in different settings worldwide. All chapters provide practical guidelines for using the therapies to promote health and comfort while increasing patients' well-being and satisfaction with care. New to the Eighth Edition: Updated research-based content, including new cutting-edge referencesExpanded content about technology and digital resourcesNew Foreword and endorsements by prominent scholarsDescribes key steps in evolution of the NCCIH and its current national agendaHighlights indigenous culturally based therapiesNew chapter: "Systems of Care: Sowa Rigpa--The Tibetan Knowledge of Healing"New chapter: "Independent Personal Use of Complementary Therapies"New chapter: "Afterword: Creating a Preferred Future--Editors' Reflections"Updated information on legal concerns, regulation, and credentialingEnlarged safety and precaution contentHelpful tips for selecting practitionersUse of therapies for nurses' and patients' self-careStrategies for initiating institution-wide therapies and programs Key Features: Delivers comprehensive and current guidelines for therapy useWritten by highly respected nurse expertsEmploys a consistent format for ease of useDescribes instructional techniques and safety precautions for each therapyProvides a strong international focus
Publication Date: 2018-01-15
Handbook of Nutraceuticals for Clinical Use by This handbook provides key information on the clinical use of nutraceuticals, an increasingly common practice grounded in an understanding of the pharmacological activities of natural compounds and clinical evidence of efficacy and safety.
Publication Date: 2018
Herbs and Natural Supplements by An evidence-based reference, essential to the safe and effective use of herbal, nutritional and food supplements. The second volume provides current, evidence-based monographs on the 132 most popular herbs, nutrients and food supplements. Organised alphabetically, each monograph includes daily intake, main actions and indications, adverse reactions, contraindications and precautions, safety in pregnancy and more. Useful in a clinical setting as well as a reference book. It provides up-to-date evidence on the latest research impacting on herbal and natural medicine by top leaders in Australia within the fields of Pharmacy, Herbal Medicine and Natural Medicine
Publication Date: 2015
Herbs and Natural Supplements, Volume 1 by Herbs and Natural Supplements, 4th Edition: An evidence-based guide is an authoritative, evidence-based reference. This two volume resource is essential to the safe and effective use of herbal, nutritional and food supplements. The first volume provides a foundation of knowledge in the clinical practice of complementary medicine. It emphasises safe practice with strategies to prevent adverse drug reactions, guidelines in assessing benefit, risk and harm and the evaluation of research. Comprehensive review of herbal medicine, clinical nutrition, aromatherapy, and food as medicine Patient safety and wellness Considerations in preoperative care and pregnancy Use in the treatment of cancer Herb/nutrient - drug interactions. Provides up-to-date evidence on the latest research impacting on herbal and natural medicine by top leaders within the fields of Pharmacy, Herbal Medicine and Natural Medicine.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Holistic Healthcare by This new book focuses on recent trends in holistic medicine, the art of maintaining proper balance between one's physical health and mental well-being. The books highlights the importance of maintaining a healthy life style for physical well-being and examines the advantages of using traditional medicine to combat multi-drug-resistance problems caused by modern-day antibiotics. It details the advantages of using holistic approaches to treat infectious diseases with relevant clinical data.
Publication Date: 2017-03-16
Integrating Nutrition into Practice by Integrative medicine is an approach to wellness that makes use of both conventional and alternative therapies to achieve optimal health and healing. Nutrition-based therapies are consistently among the highest used alternative therapies to treat a wide variety of illnesses. This book provides consumers and health care professionals with practical guidance on integrating nutrition therapies into disease prevention and management. It provides reliable and accurate information from experts in the nutrition field including dietitians, nutritionists, physicians, researchers, and academic professionals. Integrative Nutrition Therapy includes up-to-date information on dietary supplements, popular diets, physical activity, and food allergies. The book covers disease prevention for cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and obesity. Additional topics include liver/pancreatic conditions and musculoskeletal disorders as well as nutrigenomics, epigenetics, and metabolomics. The book provides evidence-based recommendations for which therapies might be appropriate for various conditions and discusses the possible adverse effects that may develop. It also includes guidelines and suggestions for creating individualized, integrative care plans. Integrative Nutrition Therapy is organized in a systematic manner that presents the scientific data using an evidence-based, how-to approach. An overview of integrative medicine is written by Dr. Roberta Lee, a leading authority in the field. Award-winning nutrition experts provide practical knowledge for the integrative practitioner, covering topics such as: Nutrition screening and assessment Search for the optimum diet Functional foods and nutritional supplements Nutritional recommendations for women's health Health benefits of physical activity Diet and mental health Although unanswered questions still exist, this resource gives you a much-needed guide to the information currently available on nutrition and lifestyle-based therapies.
Publication Date: 2017-07-06
Medicinal Spices and Vegetables from Africa by A detailed look at medicinal spices and vegetables that have proven safe-and-effective for consumption and the treatment of diseases, including infectious diseases, cardiovascular disease, and cancer. It provides pharmacological evidence, such as the latest information related to efficacy and safety data, in vitro and in vivo studies, clinical trials, and more, to illustrate the use of these spices and vegetables as both palliative and alternative treatments with the goal of furthering research in this area to produce safer and more effective drugs.
Publication Date: 2017-02-13
Nutritional and Integrative Strategies in Cardiovascular Medicine by Despite 40 years of aggressive pharmaceutical and surgical interventions, coronary artery disease (CAD) remains the number one killer of women and men in Western civilization. When it comes to CAD, prevention is easier than cure, and if CAD does present itself, a combination of conventional and alternative methodologies can truly make a difference
Publication Date: 2015-04-02