Skip to main content
Oakland Community College Home

Libraries

Find Books / Library Catalog | Find Articles / Databases | Research Guides | Libraries Home
OCC Libraries are closed until further notice but services are available online. We are here to help.

Find Articles / Databases : Database Access Help

Alternative login method from off-campus

If you are having trouble logging into OCC databases through the usual method, you can use the Michigan eLibrary databases as a backup.

If our normal authentication system is down for any reason, you might also be able to login by password for many of the databases if you are faculty, staff, or a currently enrolled student at OCC. Find out more about password access here.

For More Help:

Databases With Special Instructions

If you are using Search Everything from off-campus and have not already logged in with your MyOCC ID & password, you may viewing your results as a Guest user.  Guest users are not able to access all the full-text articles available in the databases, so please make sure you login for full access.  If you are a Guest user it will say Guest at the top right of your Search Everything result screen. Click the "Sign In" at the top right and enter your MyOCC username & password to be able to access all the full-text articles available to you.

The LearningExpress Library database requires you to create a free account before using.  Your MyOCC ID & password will not work by default in this database, but you could use your OCC credentials when creating the free account.  If you are trying to access this database from off-campus you may first be asked for your MyOCC ID & password, then you can register a new account (or sign in with an existing one) at the bottom of the database home screen.

If you want to use the special features of the ITpro Books24x7 ebook collection you will have to create a free account.  Click here for information on registering an account.  Your free ITpro Books24x7 account allows you to create personal folders to manage your favorite books, add bookmarks to chapters and keep notes about the books you use.

Known Issues

Films On Demand Master Academic Collection
On-campus users may not be able to play videos from this collection in the Microsoft Edge browser. When on-campus please use the Firefox or Chrome browser to stream videos from this collection.

ARTSTOR
Known issue with the Image Viewer

In Internet Explorer 11, you may experience an issue loading an image in the Image Viewer. As a work around, you can scroll to the next image which should load. Then scroll back and you should be able to scroll back. You may also try using another browser.

Safari browser login problem from off-campus
Users accessing Artstor remotely using Safari may experience network error messages. Please access Artstor remotely using the Firefox, Chrome, or IE browsers if you experience issues with Safari.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect no longer supports Internet Explorer 8
Effective January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8). Users are directed to update to the latest version of Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, or Firefox browsers.

Blank screen after searching in ScienceDirect
Sometimes when searching the ScienceDirect database in the Internet Explorer browser you will end up with a blank screen.  This may be fixed by either using a different browser or by disabling Protected Mode in Internet Explorer (Tools > Internet Options > Security > uncheck box for Protected Mode).

Trusted Site  / Security Certificate error when logging in
There is a known issue with a trusted site or security certificate error for some off-campus users.  If you see this message, it is safe to continue if you are linking from an OCC page:
problem
If you get the warning in the Internet Explorer browser, select "Continue to this website," in Firefox select "I understand the risks," and in Chrome select "Advanced" then "Proceed."

"Product session has expired" error message in Gale databases:
If you get a "product session has expired" error message when using a Gale database (pictured below), you can fix it by overriding automatic cookie handling. See Cookies in the General Tips section of this page for information on how to override automatic cookie handling.
Gale Error Screen

Problems Using The Internet Explorer Web Browser

If you are using the Internet Explorer browser to access the library pages, you may run into occasional problems connecting to services, displaying certain items on the page, or opening documents in the library databases. Please try the following if you run into any trouble:

  1. In the Internet Explorer Tools menu, click Internet Options and delete browsing history.
  2. Try using InPrivate browsing mode.  Again in the Tools menu select InPrivate Browsing.  This should open a new window in InPrivate mode from where you can navigate to the library home page.
  3. Download and install the free Firefox, Chrome, or Safari browsers.

General Tips

Having trouble connecting to OCC library databases? Here are some general troubleshooting tips.

  • Legitimate OCC users only:
    Only currently registered students or persons employed by OCC will be able to get into the databases from off campus by entering their MyOCC ID & password.
  • Try a different browser
    Some browsers may not work as well as others with certain databases.  If you can, try connecting to your database in a different browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, or Chrome are the most commonly used browsers).
  • Clear browser cache
    Sometimes clearing your browser cache will solve the problem.
  • Password resets:
    The MyOCC Online Services user name/password is required to use library article databases from home, to access your Raider One Card account information, and for OCC functions like registering for courses or checking your grades.  See the College’s MyOCC page to see how to set up a new user name/password or request a password reset. On the MyOCC page, click click the What's my password? link at the bottom right to reset your password or check with Library staff in person as they may be able to assist you. Bring an official picture ID, such as a driver’s license.
  • Popups:
    Databases open in their own windows. Hit control and the link to temporarily override a popup blocker or disable the blocker. In the Internet Explorer browser, go to Tools > Popup Blocker and Turn Off Popup Blocker.
  • Cookies:
    Cookies must be enabled to use the databases from off-campus. In the Internet Explorer browser, go to Tools > Internet Options > Privacy > Advanced, then click the checkbox for Override automatic cookie handling; select Accept for both First-party Cookies and Third-party Cookies and check the Always allow session cookies option.
  • Norton Internet Security program:
    Norton Internet Security (not Norton Anti-Virus) may block access into databases. This can be temporarily turned off. Go into the controls for the program to disable it.
  • Ad-Blocker:
    Ad-blocking programs may need to be temporarily disabled.
  • Firewalls:
    You may need to temporarily disabled your firewall.
OCC is committed to empowering our students to succeed and advancing our community.
©2020 Oakland Community College, 2480 Opdyke Road, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304, 248.341.2000
Privacy Statement | Mission, Strategic Priorities, Vision | Accreditations | Webmaster