Skip to main content
Oakland Community College Home

Libraries

Find Books / Library Catalog | Find Articles / Databases | Research Guides | Libraries Home
OCC Libraries are closed until further notice but services are available online. We are here to help.

For Faculty: Linking to Library Materials in D2L

Add A Library Link to Your D2L Course

If you would like to add a link to the OCC Libraries home page in your D2L course, you can do so by following these instructions from the OCC Academic Technology Group on adding content in D2L. You might consider adding these links:

To add links to other library resources, please see below.  If you have any questions or need any assistance with adding OCC Libraries content to your D2L course, please contact Jeff Zachwieja, Coordinator of Library Electronic Resources, at jxzachwi@oaklandcc.edu, 248-522-3488.

About Durable Links

In order to allow easy access to articles, most library database providers include durable links to each item in a database. Durable links refer specifically to the material you want and can be set up to make sure that authorized users are allowed  access to materials from on-campus or off without having to search the database.

Depending on the database you are using, a durable link may be called a:

  • Persistent URL (PURL)
  • Permalink
  • Document URL
  • Bookmark
  • Stable URL

Adding a Durable Link into a D2L Course

Follow these steps to add durable links to articles in your D2L course:

  1. Once you have found an article in a library database which you would like to include in your D2L course or website, locate and copy the durable link for your selected article. See the box on this page titled "Finding Durable Links for OCC Library Databases."
  2. Use the Link Generator on this page to paste the copied link and generate a proxied link that will allow off-campus users to go directly to the article after logging in with their OCC user name and password.  Copy the generated link.  NOTE: If you get a "This is already a proxied URL, no change needed" message from the link generator, you may use that link in the next step.
  3. Make a shortened URL from the link you generated in step 2.
    Try one of these: tiny.cc | TinyURL | bitly
  4. In your D2L course, open the Content link from the top toolbar and add the link according to these instructions from the OCC Academic Technology Group on adding content in D2L.

Finding Durable Links in OCC Library Databases

Linking to Articles in CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher provides permanent URLs at the bottom of pages. Copy the Document URL at the bottom for linking.

Paste the link in the Link Generator before sharing with students.

Linking to Articles in EBSCOhost Databases
Includes Academic Search Elite; Business Source Elite; ERICHealth Source Nursing/Academic EditionNewspaper SourcePoints of View; Regional Business News

Saving Links to Articles
As you are viewing an article, click Permalink on the right of the screen.

When you click it, a box will open with the bookmark, or PURL, for you to copy or send to your email (make sure you copy the entire URL from this box).

No need to use the the Link Generator, the Permalink is already formatted properly.

Predefined Searches
Another potential use is to create a predefined search. Any combination of searching and limiting that produces citations can be saved. A predefined search could be as narrow as a specific search or as broad as, for example, all articles from a particular journal. Each time the saved link is selected, the search will be run anew, so the results are always fresh. To create a predefined search, click the Alert / Save / Share link at the top right of your search results to access the link to this search. Copy the entire link in the box under Permalink.

Linking to Videos in the Films On Demand Master Academic Collection    

When on the video viewing screen, click Embed/Link below the video to get the Record URL.

No need to use the the Link Generator, the permalink is already formatted properly.

Linking to Articles from Gale / InfoTrac Databases

See a list of all the Gale Databases at OCC

Saving Links to Articles
As you are viewing the article, select Get Link from the top toolbar on the screen. When you click it, a new window will open with the durable link for you to copy or send to your email.

No need to use the the Link Generator, the link is already formatted properly.

Predefined Searches

 

Another potential use is to create a predefined search. Any combination of searching and limiting that produces citations can be saved. A predefined search could be as narrow as a specific search or as broad as, for example, all articles from a particular journal. Each time the saved link is selected, the search will run anew, so the results are always fresh. To create a predefined search, select Get Link from the top toolbar of your search results to access the link to this search.

Linking to Books & Videos in ITPro Books24x7

You will need the book ID number to make durable links in ITPro Books24x7.  The book ID number can be found in the address bar of your browser. It is the number at the end of the URL, here is an example:
http://library.books24x7.com/toc.aspx?bookid=32009

Enter that book ID number in the ITPro Books24x7 link generator at the bottom of this page to create your link. 

Linking to Articles in JSTOR

As you are viewing an article, copy the Stable URL that appears at the top of the article’s summary page.

Paste the link in the Link Generator before sharing with students.

Linking to Music & Playlists in Naxos Music Library
Naxos provides Static URLs for albums, songs and playlists.

For songs or albums, select the Show Static URL icon at the top right  and the URLs will appear below each song and, in the new version of Naxos, below the album title.

For playlists, select the Show Static URL link at the top right (on the old version of Naxos it says Display Static URL) and the URLs will display below each title.

To link to the entire playlist, try using the URL from the address bar of your browser.

In each case, copy then paste the Static URL in the Link Generator before sharing with students.

Linking to Articles in ProQuest Databases
includes: Detroit Free Press; ProQuest Psychology Database; PsycARTICLES

Permanent URLs
Click the Abstract/Details link beneath the article title and scroll down to find the Document URL link.

No need to use the the Link Generator, the permalink is already formatted properly.

Link Generator

Most durable links in library databases require authentication for off-campus users.  Use the Link Generator to create links that make it easy for off-campus users to access articles, ebooks, videos or searches in library databases.

This link generator works for all library resources except ITPro Books24x7. Use the link generator at the bottom of this page for titles from ITPro Books24x7.



Link Generator - ITPro Books24x7

ITPro Books24x7 Link Generator

Enter the Book ID number from Books24x7 to generate an authenticated link

OCC is committed to empowering our students to succeed and advancing our community.
©2020 Oakland Community College, 2480 Opdyke Road, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304, 248.341.2000
Privacy Statement | Mission, Strategic Priorities, Vision | Accreditations | Webmaster