New from Kanopy
November 2025
• Salam
September 2025
• Triangle of Sadness
• Monrovia, Indiana
August 2025
• Memento
May 2025
• Parasite
September 2024
• Nosferatu
July 2024
• The Graduate
January 2024
• The Sicilian Girl
• Caro diario
See all available Kanopy films
New from Swank Digital Campus
September 2025
Drama Online - Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection
See all available titles in the Stratford Shakespeare Collection
Nearly 300 titles were added to O'Reilly for Higher Education in November. Visit the O'Reilly database, scroll down to "Recently Added," and click on "See More" to view the latest titles.
In addition to the OCC-purchased titles below, Gale eBooks now includes more than 200 new titles added by MeL. Visit Gale eBooks to browse the entire collection.
Nearly 400 titles were added to O'Reilly for Higher Education in October. Visit the O'Reilly database, scroll down to "Recently Added," and click on "See More" to view the latest titles.
In addition to the titles below, Bloom's added 164 titles to its "Twentieth Century American Literature" series and 43 titles to its "The Criitcal Perspective" series.
More than 400 titles were added to O'Reilly for Higher Education in September. Visit the O'Reilly database, scroll down to "Recently Added," and click on "See More" to view the latest titles.
Nearly 700 titles were added to O'Reilly for Higher Education in August. Visit the O'Reilly database, scroll down to "Recently Added," and click on "See More" to view the latest titles.
Nearly 300 titles were added to O'Reilly for Higher Education in July. Visit the O'Reilly database, scroll down to "Recently Added," and click on "See More" to view the latest titles.
More than 800 titles were added to O'Reilly for Higher Education in May. Visit the O'Reilly database, scroll down to "Recently Added," and click on "See More" to view the latest titles.
More than 1,000 titles were added to O'Reilly for Higher Education in May. Visit the O'Reilly database, scroll down to "Recently Added," and click on "See More" to view the latest titles.
More than 500 titles were added to O'Reilly for Higher Education in April. Visit the O'Reilly database, scroll down to "Recently Added," and click on "See More" to view the latest titles.
Nearly 600 titles were added to O'Reilly for Higher Education in March. Visit the O'Reilly database, scroll down to "Recently Added," and click on "See More" to view the latest titles.
The following titles have been added to Bloom's Literature's "The Critical Perspective" series (Harold Bloom, Editor):
More than 80 titles were added to O'Reilly for Higher Education in February. Visit the O'Reilly database, scroll down to "Recently Added," and click on "See More" to view the latest titles.
More than 80 titles were added to O'Reilly for Higher Education in January. Visit the O'Reilly database, scroll down to "Recently Added," and click on "See More" to view the latest titles
Testing New Features in Search Everything
We now have a separate instance of Search Everything to test new features and configurations. This new instance is currently configured for:
You can try these additional features at https://dalnet-occ.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01DAL_OCC:AI_test&lang=en. Please contact Jeff if you have any questions.
OCC now has access to the National Geographic Archive via the Library of Michigan. The database includes full magazines from October 1888 through December 2020.
A new and improved OCC LibGuide Help guide is now available at https://libguides.oaklandcc.edu/OCClibguideshelp.
Updates and changes include:
NOTE: All reusable boxes on current guides (tutorial videos, catalog search boxes, etc) have been remapped so that they originate from this new help guide. If you notice any that aren't updated or are missing from your guides, please use the reusable boxes from the new guide, or contact Jeff or Jen for help.
Our migration to the hosted version of EZproxy is nearly complete. With a few exceptions, all authentication in LibGuides and Search Everything should be routing through the new system to begin September with just a few more loose ends to tie up. We have access to both versions of EZproxy for the next few weeks until the new version takes effect on September 12 (this may be extended). Please contract Jeff if you notice any sources still using the old authentication screen, the the comparison here: https://libguides.oaklandcc.edu/blog/OCC-Libraries-Upgraded-Authentication-System.
Poetry & Short Story Source (formerly "Poetry & Short Story Reference Center") and Referencia Latina have updated to the new Explora interface. These are the final two EBSCOhost databases at OCC to make the transition.
For more on how to navigate this new interface, see our Explora tutorial video.
EBSCO has made several accessibility upgrades on it’s e-book platform.
Spacing controls for reading EBSCO eBooks
When reading an EPUB format e-book, users will be able to adjust the character spacing, word spacing, and line spacing by clicking the Display and text size tool in the upper-right corner of the e-book viewer. The e-book viewer currently supports the ability to adjust the font size from this tool.
Accessibility information displayed in e-book detailed records
Users will be able to view accessibility information on the detailed record for an e-book which will display formats, DRM-free status, language, and content accessibility (for EPUB titles), with a link to access the available accessibility metadata for a title. This will include verification and validation data as well as a list of available accessibility features.
Text to speech functionality for PDF and EPUB EBSCO eBooks
Text to speech functionality, similar to the tool available for Online and PDF Full Text articles, will be made available in the EBSCO eBook viewer for both EPUB and PDF format e-books. The text to speech functionality will allow the user to control many aspects of the experience, including reading speed, a choice of accents, color choices for highlighting text as it’s read aloud, and more.
Alternative format workflow
If an e-book displayed in the e-book viewer or an article in the full text viewer does not meet a user's needs, the user will be able to request an alternative format. Based on the nature of the request, the workflow may provide a user with a file for their exclusive use only for accessibility purposes. Format may vary depending on what is available from the publisher. This feature is also available in the EBSCOhost database platform.
As an added benefit, our subscription to Films on Demand now includes free access to the Archival Films & Newsreels Collection.
The ProQuest E-book Central interface now includes an AI-powered Research Assistant. For eligible titles, this will include a book summary, AI-generated key takeaways on selected chapters, suggested related subjects and more. Find out more about this new tool.
OCC's Outstanding Research Paper Competition now has its own LibGuide. The guide includes a list of current winners and links to their winning research papers; competition rules and a rubric; writing tips and advice from competition winners; and a list of past winners.
JSTOR is inviting users to explore its new interactive research tool, now in beta. The tool was developed in collaboration with the JSTOR user community, and it employs AI and other technologies to help users deepen and expand their research in JSTOR. The tool appears on the content page for journal articles, book chapters, and research reports, and is also available as an addition to JSTOR’s standard keyword search. For more information, visit https://about.jstor.org/research-tool.
OCC Libraries LibGuides are reviewed annually to ensure that they meet current accessibility standards. All published guides — including General Purpose, Subject/Topic, and Course guides — were reviewed in early February, and there were only a few minor issues to correct.
LibGuide owners/editors: If you create a new guide or edit a current guide and would like to check its accessibility, here's how:
Several new titles have been added to OCC's Open Educational Resources (OER) collection in Alma. All items in the collection are discoverable in a Search Everything general search and may also be linked to course reserves.