Reference Shelf: Policing in America by Current Biography Yearbook H. W. Wilson's Current Biography Yearbook is a full year of the monthly Current Biography magazine in a single hardcover volume. Current Biography has been delivering up-to-date biographies of men and women of contemporary importance since 1940 and is renowned for its unfailing accuracy, insightful selection, and wide scope of influence of its subjects. The Yearbook is an invaluable source for researchers, teachers, students, and librarians. Core Collections There is nothing quite like Wilson Core Collections. The accumulated expertise of our selectors, and the unquestioned reputation of these collections make them valuable tools for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory, and support for specific curriculums. Core Collections include complete bibliographic data, subject headings, annotations, grade levels, Dewey classifications, and quotations from select reviews. Core Collection titles include Senior High, Middle & Junior High, Children's, Fiction, and Public Library Nonfiction, Graphic Novels and Young Adult Fiction. Careers in Forensic Science Forensic science is the application of science to the legal field, including criminal and civil laws, during criminal investigation. Forensic scientists-also called criminalists-perform chemical and physical research on evidence submitted by law enforcement agencies, including handwriting analysis to confirm the validity of a signature on a will, or examining a firearm, and the growth of technology has expanded the field. These professionals also provide testimony in courts of law. Careers in forensic science draws from many specialists, including toxicologists, attorneys, pathologists, biologists, dentists, toxicologists, document examiners, psychiatrists, anthropologists, criminalists, educators, digital and multimedia scientists, engineers and applied scientists. Humanitarian and human rights workers also have place in the field and are recognized by the Academy of Forensic Sciences. Book jacket.
Call Number: HV 8139 .P655 2021
Publication Date: 2021-02-01
Halfway Home by Each year, more than half a million Americans are released from prison and join a population of eight million formerly incarcerated men and women. As a chaplain at the Cook County Jail in Chicago and later as a sociologist studying mass incarceration, Reuben Miller spent years embedded with prisoners, ex-prisoners, and their friends and families. What his work among them revealed is a simple, if overlooked truth: in most states in America, life after prison resembles its own prison. The idea of serving one's debt and returning as a full-fledged member of society has been replaced with a new reality of jobs that are off-limits, apartments that cannot be occupied and votes that cannot be cast. Halfway Home captures the stories of these men and women, focusing in particular on Detroit and Chicago-two with the largest post-prison populations in the country. This poignant and eye-opening book is a call to arms, revealing how laws, rules and regulations on the books across America extract a real cost not only to the men and women working to rebuild their lives, but also to our democracy. What's more, as the son and brother of men who have served time in prison, Miller writes searchingly of how necessary it is for Americans to acknowledge those who have served their debt to society.
Call Number: HV 9275 .M55 2021
Publication Date: 2021-02-02
Work Won't Love You Back by A deeply-reported examination of why "doing what you love" is a recipe for exploitation, creating a new tyranny of work in which we cheerily acquiesce to doing jobs that take over our lives. You're told that if you "do what you love, you'll never work a day in your life." Whether it's working for "exposure" and "experience," or enduring poor treatment in the name of "being part of the family," all employees are pushed to make sacrifices for the privilege of being able to do what we love. In Work Won't Love You Back, Sarah Jaffe, a preeminent voice on labor, inequality, and social movements, examines this "labor of love" myth--the idea that certain work is not really work, and therefore should be done out of passion instead of pay. Told through the lives and experiences of workers in various industries--from the unpaid intern, to the overworked teacher, to the nonprofit worker and even the professional athlete--Jaffe reveals how all of us have been tricked into buying into a new tyranny of work. As Jaffe argues, understanding the trap of the labor of love will empower us to work less and demand what our work is worth. And once freed from those binds, we can finally figure out what actually gives us joy, pleasure, and satisfaction.
Call Number: HD 6955 .J34 2021
Publication Date: 2021-01-26
More August Additions:
A People's Atlas of Detroit by Detroit is widely known as the Motor City, but it has also given rise to some of the world's most important urban social movements. Edited by Linda Campbell, Andrew Newman, Sara Safransky, and Tim Stallmann, A People's Atlas of Detroit narrates the lived experiences of people engaged in political battles central to Detroit's future and that of urban America. This interdisciplinary volume features contributions by over fifty figures from movement-building efforts in Detroit, including activists, farmers, students, educators, scholars, not-for-profit and city government workers, and members of neighborhood block clubs. Developed from a community-based participatory project, the book speaks to the challenges of fighting for land and housing justice, food sovereignty, economic democracy, accountable governance, and the right to the city. A People's Atlas of Detroit weaves together maps, poetry, interviews, photographs, essays, and stories to critique status quo urban governance while elucidating radical visions for change. By drawing upon the collective analyses of Detroiters engaged in the front lines of struggle, A People's Atlas of Detroit argues that it is only by confronting racial injustice and capitalism head-on that communities can overcome the depths of economic and ecological crises afflicting cities today. This innovative collection builds bridges between multiple areas of social activism as well as current scholarship in geography, anthropology, history, and urban studies to inspire communities in Detroit and other cities towards transformative change.
Call Number: HT 177 .D4 P467 2020
Publication Date: 2020-02-19
A Woman's Place by The 9/11 attacks fundamentally transformed how the US approached terrorism, and led to the unprecedented expansion of counterterrorism strategies, policies, and practices. While the analysis of these developments is rich and vast, there remains a significant void. The diverse actorscontributing to counterterrorism increasingly consider, engage and impact women as agents, partners, and targets of their work. Yet, flawed assumptions and stereotypes remain prevalent, and it remains undocumented and unclear how and why counterterrorism efforts have evolved as they did, includingin relation to women.Drawing on extensive primary source documents, A Woman's Place traces the evolution of women in US counterterrorism efforts through the administrations of Presidents Bush, Obama, and Trump, examining key agencies like the US Department of Defense, the Department of State, and USAID. In their ownwords, Joana Cook investigates how and why women have developed the roles they have, and interrogates US counterterrorism practices in key countries like Iraq, Afghanistan, and Yemen. Analysing conceptions of and responses to terrorists, she also considers how the roles of women in Al- Qaeda andDaesh have evolved and impacted on US counterterrorism considerations.
Call Number: HV 6432 .C66 2020
Publication Date: 2020-02-01
Abuse and Violence Information for Teens by Provides consumer health information for teens about the causes and consequences of abusive and violent behavior including facts about types of abuse and violence, warning signs of abusive and violent behavior, health concerns of victims, getting he
Call Number: HQ 799.2 .V56 A25 2020
Publication Date: 2019-11-08