NEW April Books
World on Fire by Mark Rowlands presents a novel analysis of three epoch-defining environmental problems: climate, extinction, and pestilence. Our climate is changing at a rate that is unprecedented and, if unchecked, disastrous. Species are disappearing hundreds or thousands of times faster than normal.COVID-19 has wreaked social and economic havoc but is merely the latest off a blossoming production line of emerging infectious diseases, many of which have the potential to be far worse.Rowlands establishes that all three problems are consequences of choices we have made about energy, which can be divided into two major forms: fuel and food. Focusing on food choices as far more central to the issue than commonly recognized, he argues that the solution is breaking our collectivehabit of eating animals. Rowlands shows that in doing so, we stem our insatiable hunger for land, which he identifies as central to the problems of extinction and pestilence. He explains that reversing the industrial farming of animals for food will first, substantially cut climate emissions,rapidly enough to allow sustainable energy technologies time to become viable alternatives; and most importantly, make vast areas of a land available for the kind of aggressive afforestation policy that he shows as necessary to bring all three problems under control.With World on Fire, Mark Rowlands identifies the source of our environmental ills and provides a compelling and accessible account of how to solve them.
Call Number: TD 899 .F585 R65 2021 - Southfield
Publication Date: 2021-06-04
Bargaining with the Machine by Cell phone apps share location information; software companies store user data in the cloud; biometric scanners read fingerprints; employees of some businesses have microchips implanted in their hands. In each of these instances we trade a share of privacy or an aspect of identity for greater convenience or improved security. What Robert M. Pallitto asks in Bargaining with the Machine is whether we are truly making such bargains freely--whether, in fact, such a transaction can be conducted freely or advisedly in our ever more technologically sophisticated world. Pallitto uses the social theory of bargaining to look at the daily compromises we make with technology. Specifically, he explores whether resisting these "bargains" is still possible when the technologies in question are backed by persuasive, even coercive, corporate and state power. Who, he asks, is proposing the bargain? What is the balance of bargaining power? What is surrendered and what is gained? And are the perceived and the actual gains and losses the same--that is, what is hidden? At the center of Pallitto's work is the paradox of bargaining in a world of limited agency. Assurances that we are in control are abundant whether we are consumers, voters, or party to the social contract. But when purchasing goods from a technological behemoth like Amazon, or when choosing a candidate whose image is crafted and shaped by campaign strategists and media outlets, how truly free, let alone informed, are our choices? The tension between claims of agency and awareness of its limits is the site where we experience our social lives--and nowhere is this tension more pronounced than in the surveillance society. This book offers a cogent analysis of how that complex, contested, and even paradoxical experience arises as well as an unusually clear and troubling view of the consequential compromises we may be making.
Call Number: T 14.5 .P35 2020 - Auburn Hills & Highland Lakes
Publication Date: 2020-08-17
Plastics and Microplastics by Plastic plays a vital role in today's world but has become increasingly problematic. Plastics and Microplastics: A Reference Handbook discusses the history and evolution of plastic and its many uses, both in the United States and around the world. Beginning with a history of plastic--from the first scientific discovery of the material to its diversity of forms and uses in the present day--Plastics and Microplastics: A Reference Handbook discusses the history and evolution of plastic and its many uses, both in the United States and around the world. Importantly, it delves into the problems and controversies concerning plastic and microplastics, such as the pollution of oceans, rivers, and streams; its exceptionally long shelf life; its contribution to air pollution; and ingestion of microplastics by marine life. One of the most valuable aspects of the book is its survey of the history of plastics and microplastics conducted in a manner that helps readers to identify key issues to address. Moreover, it discusses both implemented and proposed solutions. A perspectives chapter includes a broad range of voices, allowing crucial, diverse perspectives to round out the author's expertise. Provides readers with the basic background they need about plastics and microplastics in order to understand current problems Includes additional readings, a comprehensive chronology, a glossary, and other features to aid students' understanding of current issues and guide them in designing and conducting their own research Offers ideas for additional research from a list of important individuals and organizations Rounds out the author's expertise in perspectives essays that show readers a diversity of viewpoints
Call Number: TP 1120 .N484 2021 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2021-07-19
Photography by Trace the history and evolution of photography through iconic photographs, biographies of famous photographers, and the extraordinary cameras that made it possible. From the first black and white photograph to modern digital imagery, photography has been one of the most fascinating developments in the past 200 years. This is the perfect photographic coffee table book for budding photographers, seasoned professionals and anyone fascinated by the history of photography. It includes: * Biographies of 50 famous photographers like Ansel Adams and Dorethea Lang. * The history of photography, starting from its origin in the 1800s. * Beautiful illustrations, plus many of the most iconic photos in history. * Special features that center on a single arresting photograph, including Pulitzer Prize winners. The development of photography is possibly one of the most extraordinary feats of modern technology. Photography: The Definitive Visual Guide captures the most awe-inspiring photos, people that have pushed the boundaries of this medium, and the cameras they experimented with -- from the daguerreotype to digital cameras. Packed with inspiration, this photography book also takes a step away from the pure art form and highlights how this medium has influenced social and cultural change. Author Tom Ang further includes segments on special types of photography -- like street photography -- and special features delving into the stories behind photographic images that changed how people saw the world!
Call Number: TR 15 .A54 2014 - Orchard Ridge & Royal Oak
Publication Date: 2014-09-29
Microsculpture by "You will never look at a beetle or a moth the same way again." --WIRED"Art meets science to dazzling effect." --The GuardianMicrosculptureis a unique photographic study of insects in mind-blowing magnification that celebrates the wonders of nature and science. Levon Biss's photographs capture in breathtaking detail the beauty of the insect world and are printed in large-scale format to provide an unforgettable viewing experience. Each picture in Microsculpture is created from approximately 8,000 individual photographs. Segments of the specimen are lit and photographed separately using microscope lenses, then "stacked" to maintain sharp focus throughout. These images are then combined to create a single high-resolution file. From start to finish, each portrait takes approximately 4 weeks to create. The project has captured the attention of the world with features in WIRED and New Scientist. Microsculpture has been exhibited at the Oxford University Museum of Natural History and the Xposure 2016 International Photography Festival in Sharjah, U.A.E. It has been viewed by over half a million people so far and will be touring museums around the world from 2017 onward. The entomology collection has significant cultural and historical value, containing the world's oldest pinned insect specimen and many thousands of insects collected by pioneering Victorian explorers and biologists such as Charles Darwin and Alfred Russell Wallace.
Call Number: TR 729 .I6 B57 2017 - Auburn Hills
Publication Date: 2017-10-10
MORE NEW April Books
Eating to Extinction by A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice What Saladino finds in his adventures are people with soul-deep relationships to their food. This is not the decadence or the preciousness we might associate with a word like "foodie," but a form of reverence . . . Enchanting." --Molly Young, The New York Times Dan Saladino's Eating to Extinction is the prominent broadcaster's pathbreaking tour of the world's vanishing foods and his argument for why they matter now more than ever Over the past several decades, globalization has homogenized what we eat, and done so ruthlessly. The numbers are stark: Of the roughly six thousand different plants once consumed by human beings, only nine remain major staples today. Just three of these--rice, wheat, and corn--now provide fifty percent of all our calories. Dig deeper and the trends are more worrisome still: The source of much of the world's food--seeds--is mostly in the control of just four corporations. Ninety-five percent of milk consumed in the United States comes from a single breed of cow. Half of all the world's cheese is made with bacteria or enzymes made by one company. And one in four beers drunk around the world is the product of one brewer. If it strikes you that everything is starting to taste the same wherever you are in the world, you're by no means alone. This matters: when we lose diversity and foods become endangered, we not only risk the loss of traditional foodways, but also of flavors, smells, and textures that may never be experienced again. And the consolidation of our food has other steep costs, including a lack of resilience in the face of climate change, pests, and parasites. Our food monoculture is a threat to our health--and to the planet. In Eating to Extinction, the distinguished BBC food journalist Dan Saladino travels the world to experience and document our most at-risk foods before it's too late. He tells the fascinating stories of the people who continue to cultivate, forage, hunt, cook, and consume what the rest of us have forgotten or didn't even know existed. Take honey--not the familiar product sold in plastic bottles, but the wild honey gathered by the Hadza people of East Africa, whose diet consists of eight hundred different plants and animals and who communicate with birds in order to locate bees' nests. Or consider murnong--once the staple food of Aboriginal Australians, this small root vegetable with the sweet taste of coconut is undergoing a revival after nearly being driven to extinction. And in Sierra Leone, there are just a few surviving stenophylla trees, a plant species now considered crucial to the future of coffee. From an Indigenous American chef refining precolonial recipes to farmers tending Geechee red peas on the Sea Islands of Georgia, the individuals profiled in Eating to Extinction are essential guides to treasured foods that have endured in the face of rampant sameness and standardization. They also provide a roadmap to a food system that is healthier, more robust, and, above all, richer in flavor and meaning.
Call Number: TX 357 .S23 2022 - Auburn Hills & Royal Oak
Publication Date: 2022-02-01
Coffee by Most of us can't make it through morning without our cup (or cups) of joe, and we're not alone. Coffee is a global beverage: it's grown commercially on four continents and consumed enthusiastically on all seven--and there is even an Italian espresso machine on the International Space Station. Coffee's journey has taken it from the forests of Ethiopia to the fincas of Latin America, from Ottoman coffee houses to "Third Wave" cafés, and from the simple coffee pot to the capsule machine. In Coffee: A Global History, Jonathan Morris explains both how the world acquired a taste for this humble bean, and why the beverage tastes so differently throughout the world. Sifting through the grounds of coffee history, Morris discusses the diverse cast of caffeinated characters who drank coffee, why and where they did so, as well as how it was prepared and what it tasted like. He identifies the regions and ways in which coffee has been grown, who worked the farms and who owned them, and how the beans were processed, traded, and transported. Morris also explores the businesses behind coffee--the brokers, roasters, and machine manufacturers--and dissects the geopolitics linking producers to consumers. Written in a style as invigorating as that first cup of Java, and featuring fantastic recipes, images, stories, and surprising facts, Coffee will fascinate foodies, food historians, baristas, and the many people who regard this ancient brew as a staple of modern life.
Call Number: TX 415 .M677 2019 - Orchard Ridge
Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Mooncakes and Milk Bread by "Cho's book is so smart and thorough, I'm not sure we'll need another book on the topic anytime soon." - The New York Times In Mooncakes & Milk Bread, food blogger Kristina Cho (eatchofood.com) introduces readers to Chinese bakery cooking with fresh, uncomplicated interpretations of classic recipes for the modern baker. Inside, you'll find sweet and savory baked buns, steamed buns, Chinese breads, unique cookies, whimsical cakes, juicy dumplings, Chinese breakfast dishes, and drinks. Recipes for steamed BBQ pork buns, pineapple buns with a thick slice of butter, silky smooth milk tea, and chocolate Swiss rolls all make an appearance--because a book about Chinese bakeries wouldn't be complete without them! Kristina teaches you to whip up these delicacies like a pro, including how to: Knead dough without a stand mixer Avoid collapsed steamed buns Infuse creams and custards with aromatic tea flavors Mix the most workable dumpling dough Pleat dumplings like an Asian grandma This is the first book to exclusively focus on Chinese bakeries and cafés, but it isn't just for those nostalgic for Chinese bakeshop foods--it's for all home bakers who want exciting new recipes to add to their repertoires.
Call Number: TX 763 .C4938 2021 - Royal Oak
Publication Date: 2021-10-12
Good Drinks by A serious and stylish look at sophisticated nonalcoholic beverages by a former Bon Appetit editor and James Beard Award nominee. A serious and stylish look at sophisticated nonalcoholic beverages by a formerBon Appetiteditor and James Beard Award nominee. "Julia Bainbridge resets our expectations for what a'drink' can mean from now on."-Jim Meehan, author ofMeehan's Bartender ManualandThe PDT Cocktail Book NAMED ONE OF THE BEST COOKBOOKS OF THE YEAR BY Bon Appetit . Los Angeles Times. Wired . Esquire .Garden & Gun Blackberry-infused cold brew with almond milk and coconut cream. Smoky tea paired with tart cherry juice. A bittersweet, herbal take on the Pimm's Cup. Writer Julia Bainbridge spent a summer driving across the U.S. going to bars, restaurants, and everything in between in pursuit of the question- Can you make an outstanding nonalcoholic drink? The answer came back emphatically-"Yes." With an extensive pantry section, tips for sourcing ingredients, and recipes curated from stellar bartenders around the country-includingVerjus Spritz, Chicha Morada Agua Fresca, Salted Rosemary Paloma, and Tarragon Cider-Good Drinksshows that decadent brunch cocktails, afternoon refreshers, and evening digestifs can be enjoyed by anyoneand everyone.
Call Number: TX 815 .B18 2020 - Royal Oak
Publication Date: 2020-10-06
Dry by Divine cocktails and delicious mixed drinks--hangover not included! Festive, sophisticated cocktails for everyone? Yes, please! With alcohol-free options so refreshing to drink, simple to make, and for any season or occasion, going dry has never been easier: Celebrate Dry January in style with an Espresso Mint Martini Spoil yourself at breakfast with a Blood Orange Sunrise Toast the mother-to-be with a bubbly Paloma Fizz Keep your summer picnic kid-friendly with a refreshing Raspberry and Lavender Shrub Thank the oft-forgotten designated driver with an eye-opening Chile and Lime Margarita Plus, for the new mocktail mixologist, Dry comes complete with a guide to essential equipment, easy-to-find ingredients, simple syrup recipes, and more. Cheers!
Call Number: TX 951 .L53 2018 - Royal Oak
Publication Date: 2018-10-16