Skip to main content
Oakland Community College Home

Libraries

Find Books / Library Catalog | Find Articles / Databases | Research Guides | Libraries Home
Fall 2020 Changes to Library Services

ASC 1070 information literacy exercise: Part 3: Academic OneFile database

An introduction to information literacy for students enrolled in ASC 1070.

Searching the Academic OneFile database

In Part 3 of this assignment, you'll be searching an OCC Library database called Academic OneFile. A library database is simply a large collection of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

  1. Choose Academic OneFile from this list of OCC Library databases: http://libguides.oaklandcc.edu/find_articles. Academic OneFile will open in a new window. If you are off-campus you will be asked to login with your MyOCC username and password.
  2. Click the button labeled "Subject Guide Search" just beneath the search box, as shown in the image below.
    Button for Subject Guide Search in Academic OneFile is circled in red

    Using a subject guide is one way to make sure that you and the database are using the same language. For example, if you wanted to research the ethics of animal testing, a subject guide would tell you whether it is better to use the phrase animal experimentation or animal rights.
  3. In the search box on the Subject Guide Search page, type the words stress management, then click the orange Search button. You should get results like those in the image below; if you see something different, check your spelling!

    Subject guide search results for "stress management"
     
  4. Since the phrase stress management appears here in orange, we know that Academic OneFile recognizes this phrase, and that there are lots of articles on this topic. There are so many articles, in fact, that they're broken down into subdivisions. Click the plus sign (+) to see some of these subdivisions.
  5. Scroll down until you find the subdivision for methods. Note the number in the right column; this number indicates how many articles talk about the health aspects of stress management.
  6. Click the word methods and then answer the questions in Part 3 of the Word document.

Need extra help with this part of the exercise? Take a look at this short 2-minute video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3iYXdkltGI

Once you have answered the questions in Part 3 of the Word document (don't forget to save your work!), proceed to Part 4: Searching Google.

OCC is committed to empowering our students to succeed and advancing our community.
©2020 Oakland Community College, 2480 Opdyke Road, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48304, 248.341.2000
Privacy Statement | Mission, Strategic Priorities, Vision | Accreditations | Webmaster