LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: General collections

Open Textbook Collections

Open textbooks are free, online learning materials with Creative Commons licenses. Many of the collections will have links to the same books, but each will have a particular focus, and items you can't find in other collections.

Most popular:

LibreTexts
A welcoming international community working to improve higher education by creating online textbooks and other resources.
MERLOT Open Textbook
Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT) is a curated resource of free and online textbooks for use in teaching and learning.
Milne Open Textbooks
(Formerly SUNY Open Textbooks) With the initiative of the SUNY Libraries, publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed textbooks for use in higher education.
OER Commons
Provides college-level open textbooks from higher education institutions around the world.
Openstax
Initiated by Rice University, their free textbooks are developed and peer-reviewed to ensure they meet the scope and sequence requirements of college courses.
Open Textbook Library
Created by the University of Minnesota to support development of high-quality open textbooks in various subjects.
Saylor Academy
Collection of freely available open textbooks for download, online reading, and sharing.

Other sources:

BC Campus OpenEd
Open textbooks for the 40 highest enrolled first- and second-year subject areas in the British Columbia's public, post-secondary system.
Textbook Equity
Creator, publisher, distributor, and seller of open textbooks and ancillary materials to college-level students.

OER Repositories

OER repositories contain more than just open textbooks. All content featured within these pages is free but usage rights vary. Materials in these repositories are released under a Creative Commons license while some are in the public domain.

AMSER (Applied Math and Science Education Repository)
Portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in community and technical Colleges.
California Open Online Library for Education (Cool4Ed)
Library of free open source textbooks and other materials from the State of California Higher Educations Systems.
Lumen Learning
Supports faculty in identifying and selecting high quality OER, aligning these to learning outcomes, and assembling them to create OER-based courses.
MERLOT
Free, peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials maintained by the California State University System.
Michigan Colleges Online Hub
Michigan Hub of OER Commons
MIT OpenCourseWare
A web-based publication of materials from thousands of MIT courses. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity.
OER Commons
Funded by ISKME, OER Commons is a library of OER materials containing over 50,000 high-quality OER.
Open Course Library
Collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments.
Open Michigan
A hub that helps people find, use, and create openly licensed content and provides a space to share their educational content. through partnerships with community of schools & colleges, campuses, faculty, students and alumni.
Openstax CNX (formerly Connexions)
Contains textbooks, articles, supplements, and other learning resources that can be read online or downloaded for free.
Open Yale Courses
Syllabi, lectures, reading assignments
The OrangeGrove
Florida's digital repository for instructional resources.
Stanford Engineering Everywhere
Access full course materials including syllabi, handouts, homework, and exams.
World Lecture Project
A central platform for delivering academic videos from faculties worldwide. You can find videos according to various criteria: theme, faculty, country, language, institution and others.

Open Educational Resources: General collections

Open Textbook Collections

OER Repositories

Want to adopt this guide?