Skip to Main Content
is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services.
Congressional Support Agencies
The Congressional Budget Office
produces independent, nonpartisan, impartial analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. CBO does not make policy recommendations, and each report and cost estimate summarizes the methodology underlying the analysis.
The Government Accountability Office
provides fact-based, nonpartisan information to Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates federal spending and performance.
GAO reports are easily available; objective, fact-based, nonpartisan, non-ideological, fair, and balanced; tend to be longer, more in-depth, and more critical than CRS reports; full of useful charts and statistics; might be one particular aspect of a policy/law; and make a recommendation regarding the policy.
The Congressional Research Service
offers Congress research and analysis on all current and emerging issues of national policy. CRS makes no legislative or other policy recommendations to Congress; its responsibility is to ensure that Members of the House and Senate have available the best possible information and analysis on which to base their policy decisions.
CRS reports are widely regarded as in depth, accurate, objective, and timely, but as a matter of policy they are not made available to members of the public by CRS, except in certain circumstances.
Congressional Research Service
Search recent reports by topic, limit by date
Library of Congress
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.
Library of Congress for Teachers
The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.
World Digital Library
Makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures. The WDL is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.
The collection of the National Library of Education
focuses on education, but also includes fields such as law, public policy, economics, urban affairs, sociology, history, philosophy, and information science.
National Transportation Library
Established to provide national and international access to transportation information, coordinate information creation and dissemination, and provide reference services for Department of Transportation employees and stakeholders.
The Homeland Security Digital Library
is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
GovDocs in the OCC Libraries
Since 1968, the King Library on the Orchard Ridge Campus of Oakland Community College has been a selective depository for United States Government Documents. Read more at OCC's research guide for government documents.
To limit your Google search results to government documents, type your search term plus the phrase site:.gov. For example, try typing these searches into Google:
The U.S. Geological Survey
serves the Nation as an independent fact-finding agency that collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource and natural hazard conditions, issues, and problems.
Census Bureau Library
The Census Bureau Library is a research library that has the unique role of collecting, preserving, and providing access to information resources produced by the Census Bureau to Census Bureau employees, government agencies, and the public.
Science, Technology & Engineering
OSTI.gov is the primary search tool for Department of Energy science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
USDA National Agricultural Library
One of four national libraries of the United States and houses one of the world's largest collections devoted to agriculture and its related sciences.
USDA Agricultural Research Service
The Agricultural Research Service (ARS) is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's chief scientific in-house research agency. Our job is finding solutions to agricultural problems that affect Americans every day from field to table.
USDA Economic Research Service
The mission of USDA's Economic Research Service is to anticipate trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America and to conduct high-quality, objective economic research to inform and enhance public and private decision making.
Want to adopt this guide?