LibGuides: Open Educational Resources: Other useful resources

Library Resources

Find books, articles, videos, and more in the OCC Libraries.

Try a Basic Search on the OCC Libraries' homepage
Or try an Advanced Search

Library ebooks can be used as an alternative to traditional textbooks. You can link to ebook chapters or pages from within your D2L course. To find ebooks:

Use the Search Everything box on the OCC Libraries' homepage to search for your topic, then limit your search results to Books and Full Text Online.
Or search a specific e-book collection.

Contact your librarians if you need help or would like to suggest an ebook purchase.

These library databases are good starting points for finding articles on any subject:

See the full list of library databases.

Films on Demand
A comprehensive database providing streaming video access to over 300,000 video clips and 20,000 full-length videos in a wide range of core academic areas.
ITPro Books 24x7
Videos on a wide variety of technology topics including networking, programming languages, desktop and office applications, the Web, computer hardware and software, databases and more.

For more information about the OCC Libraries' online streaming video collections, visit http://libguides.oaklandcc.edu/videos.

Museums

These museums offer resources for the classroom:

To find more classroom resources, search the web for museums or libraries specific to your topic; look for a link to their educational resources.

Images

Creative Commons Search
Use this search tool to locate, use, and remix sources with Creative Commons licenses.
Flickr: The Commons
Hidden treasures from the world's public photography archives. Participating institutions include the Library of Congress, the National Library of Medicine, NASA, the U.S. National Archives, and Smithsonian Institution.
Google Images
Search results can be filtered by usage rights.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Includes images of artworks in The Met collection that the Museum believes to be in the public domain, or those to which the Museum waives any copyright it might have.
NASA Image and Video Library
NASA content (images, audio, video, and computer files used in the rendition of 3-dimensional models) generally are not copyrighted. You may use this material for educational or informational purposes.
Wikimedia Commons
A repository of free images, videos, sounds and other multimedia files.

Culturally Relevant Openly Licensed Images

Images of Empowerment
Free images of women’s lives and work, created by the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, the David and Lucile Packard Foundation, and Getty Images; License: CC-BY-NC-4.0
Allgo Plus-Size
Free stock photography collections featuring plus size people; License: While attribution is not required, please credit
Disabled And Here
Free stock photography featuring disabled BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, people of color), varied body sizes/types, sexual orientations, and gender identities in the Pacific Northwest; License CC BY 4.0
The Gender Spectrum Collection
Free stock photos of trans and non-binary people, licensed CC BY-NC-ND 4.0
Nappy
Free, high rez photos of black and brown people, licensed Creative Commons Zero (CC0)
#WOCinTech Chat
Free photos of women and non-binary people of color working in the tech field. License CC BY

"Openly Licensed Image Resources" by Dr. Ruanda Garth-McCullough & Dr. Richard Sebastian, Achieving the Dream is licensed under CC BY 4.0 / A derivative from the original work

Nonprofits

TedEd
Build a lesson around any TED-Ed Original, TED Talk or YouTube video
PBS Learning
Limit by grade 13+
Nobel Prize Lessons
Nobelprize.org's educational section consists of 46 productions. Of these, 29 are interactive learning games of various sorts and degrees of difficulties.
The Kaiser Family Foundation
Independent information on national health issues
Pew Research Center
Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Historic programs of publicly funded radio and television. Audio or video.

YouTube

OpenLearn from The Open University
Bite-sized learning videos on a wide range of subjects.
minutephysics
Simply put: cool physics and other sweet science. Created by Henry Reich.
Google for Education (YouTube)
"Google for Education is about learning for everyone, anywhere."
"134 YouTube channels that will make you smarter"
Compiled by Biblio.org.

Podcasts

Freakonomics
Host Stephen J. Dubner has surprising conversations that explore the riddles of everyday life and the weird wrinkles of human nature. He talks with Nobel laureates and provocateurs, social scientists and entrepreneurs - and his Freakonomics co-author Steve Levitt.
Sidedoor: A podcast from the Smithsonian
With the help of biologists, artists, historians, archaeologists, zookeepers, and astrophysicists, host Tony Cohn sneaks listeners through Smithsonian’s side door to search for stories that can’t be found anywhere else.
Witness
Stories about important historical events told by people who were there.
National Public Radio Podcasts
Including Planet Money, Car Talk, Story Corps, and other popular NPR programs.
Radiolab
Radiolab is a show about curiosity. Where sound illuminates ideas, and the boundaries blur between science, philosophy, and human experience.
Stuff You Should Know
A platform used to educate the public about common things and how they work.
BBC Radio
A wide variety of podcasts from the BBC
Myths & Legends
A re-telling of stories from myths, legends, and folklore from all around the world.

Open Educational Resources: Other useful resources