Oakland Community College Home

Libraries

Find Books / Library Catalog | Find Articles / Databases | Research Guides | Libraries Home
Library Service Updates

Electronic Resources News & Information

The latest activity in Electronic Resources at the OCC Libraries

Database News & Tips - February 2024

New EBSCOhost user interface is coming

On March 4 EBSCO will be moving some of our low use database profiles (those that have had fewer than 100 searches over the last year) to the new user interface. We will look at moving all of our EBSCO databases to the new user interface after the Winter semester. Watch the Introduction to the New EBSCOhost video for a preview of the changes.


EBSCOhost Reference Center databases move to new Explora interface

Explora Interface

EBSCOhost has started transitioning its Reference Center databases to the new Explora interface. This interface is designed specifically for schools and public libraries, and aims to offer library users a "more modern and efficient search experience across all devices."

The Explora interface is now available for the following databases at OCC:


EBSCOhost plans to transition the remaining databases to the new interface by July. At OCC, this includes Biography Reference Center, Consumer Health Complete, Literary Reference Center, Poetry & Short Story Reference Center, and Points of View Reference Center. 

Name changes, tutorial video coming soon
During this transition, Reference Center databases will also drop the “Center” and be referred to as “Reference Source” databases, For example, the “History Reference Center” database will become “History Reference Source.” As these names change, we'll update them accordingly on OCC's Find Articles/Databases page. A new tutorial video will also be created soon, and it will be added to any databases on the Find Articles/Databases page that have made the transition to Explora. 

More from EBSCOhost: New Reference Center User Experience – Overview and Frequently Asked Questions

New Streaming Video Titles

Films On Demand
New titles are always being added to our Films On Demand subscription. See what's new in February.

New E-books - February 2024

The following titles are now available in the Bloom's Literature Twentieth Century American Literature Series, edited by Harold Bloom:

  • .NET MAUI in Action / by Matt Goldman.
  • 100+ Solutions in Java : Everything You Need to Know to Develop Java Applications, 2nd Edition / by Dhruti Shah.
  • 3D Printing For Dummies, 3rd Edition / by Richard Horne.
  • A Different Look at Artificial Intelligence : On Tour with Bergson, Proust and Nabokov / by Ulrike Barthelmeb, Ulrich Furbach.
  • A Friendly Guide to Software Development : What You Should Know Without Being a Developer / by Leticia Portella.
  • A Primer on Generative Adversarial Networks / by Sanaa Kaddoura.
  • A Psychology of User Experience : Involvement, Affect and Aesthetics, 2nd ed. 2023 / by Phil Turner.
  • AI and Blockchain in Healthcare / by Bipin Kumar Rai, Gautam Kumar, Vipin Balyan.
  • AI in the Financial Markets : New Algorithms and Solutions / by Federico Cecconi.
  • AI-ML for Decision and Risk Analysis : Challenges and Opportunities for Normative Decision Theory / by Louis Anthony Cox Jr..
  • ASP.NET Core in Action, Third Edition / by Andrew Lock.
  • AWS Certified Advanced Networking Study Guide : Specialty (ANS-C01) Exam, Second Edition / by Todd Montgomery.
  • AWS Certified Cloud Practitioner Study Guide : Foundational (CLF-C02) Exam, Second Edition / by Ben Piper, David Clinton.
  • Advanced Data Analytics Using Python : With Architectural Patterns, Text and Image Classification, and Optimization Techniques, 2nd Edition / by Sayan Mukhopadhyay, Pratip Samanta.
  • Advanced Penetration Testing with Kali Linux : Unlocking Industry-Oriented VAPT Tactics / by Ummed Meel.
  • Advanced Variant Configuration with SAP S/4HANA / by Uwe Blumohr, Andreas Kolbl, Michael Neuhaus, Marin Ukalovic.
  • Advances in Face Presentation Attack Detection, 2nd Edition 2023 / by Jun Wan, Guodong Guo, Sergio Escalera, Hugo Jair Escalante, Stan Z. Li.
  • Adversarial Machine Learning : Attack Surfaces, Defence Mechanisms, Learning Theories in Artificial Intelligence / by Aneesh Sreevallabh Chivukula, Xinghao Yang, Bo Liu, Wei Liu, Wanlei Zhou.
  • Agile Autonomy : Learning High-Speed Vision-Based Flight / by Antonio Loquercio.
  • An Introduction to Programming Languages : Simultaneous Learning in Multiple Coding Environments / by Paul A. Gagniuc.
  • Application of Machine Learning Models in Agricultural and Meteorological Sciences / by Mohammad Ehteram, Akram Seifi, Fatemeh Barzegari Banadkooki.
  • Applied Recommender Systems with Python : Build Recommender Systems with Deep Learning, NLP and Graph-Based Techniques / by Akshay Kulkarni, Adarsha Shivananda, Anoosh Kulkarni, V Adithya Krishnan.
  • Artificial Intelligence : A Bridge Between Psychoanalysis and Neurology: The Psi-Organ in a Nutshell / by Dietmar Dietrich.
  • Artificial Intelligence Applications in Banking and Financial Services : Anti Money Laundering and Compliance / by Abhishek Gupta, Dwijendra Nath Dwivedi, Jigar Shah.
  • Artificial Intelligence Methods for Optimization of the Software Testing Process : With Practical Examples and Exercises, First Edition / by Sahar Tahvili, Leo Hatvani.
  • Artificial Intelligence and Industry 4.0, First Edition / by Aboul Ella Hassanien, Jyotir Moy Chatterjee, Vishal Jain.
  • Artificial Intelligence for Business Analytics : Algorithms, Platforms and Application Scenarios / by Felix Weber.
  • Artificial Intelligence for Industries of the Future : Beyond Facebook, Amazon, Microsoft and Google / by Mayank Kejriwal.
  • Artificial Intelligence for Sustainable Applications / by K. Umamaheswari, B. Vinoth Kumar, S. K. Somasundaram.
  • Autonomous Intelligent Cyber Defense Agent (AICA) : A Comprehensive Guide / by Alexander Kott.
  • Beginner's Guide to Streamlit with Python : Build Web-Based Data and Machine Learning Applications / by Sujay Raghavendra.
  • Beginning Power BI for Business Users : Learning to Turn Data into Insights / by Paul D. Fuller.
  • Beginning iPhone Development with SwiftUI : Exploring the iOS SDK, 7th Edition / by Wallace Wang.
  • Beyond Edge Computing : Swarm Computing and Ad-Hoc Edge Clouds / by Ana Juan Ferrer.
  • Blockchain for Secure Healthcare Using Internet of Medical Things (IoMT) / by Sunil Gupta, Hitesh Kumar Sharma, Monit Kapoor.
  • Building Modern Business Applications : Reactive Cloud Architecture for Java, Spring, and PostgreSQL / by Peter Royal.
  • Building the Modern Workplace with SharePoint Online : Solutions with SPFx, JSON Formatting, Power Automate, Power Apps, Teams, and PVA, 2nd Edition / by Hari Narayn.
  • CAPM Certified Associate in Project Management All-in-One Exam Guide / by James Lee Haner.
  • Certified Kubernetes Application Developer (CKAD) Exam Success Guide : Ace Your Career in Kubernetes Development with CKAD Certification / by Sethumadhavan Kishore.
  • Cloud Data Architectures Demystified : Gain The Expertise to Build Cloud Data Solutions as Per the Organizations Needs / by Ashok Boddeda.
  • Collaborative Approaches for Cyber Security in Cyber-Physical Systems / by Theo Dimitrakos, Javier Lopez, Fabio Martinelli.
  • CompTIA CySA+ Cybersecurity Analyst Certification All-in-One Exam Guide, Third Edition (Exam CS0-003) / by Mya Heath, Bobby E, Brent Chapman, Fernando Maymi.
  • CompTIA Linux+ XK0-005 Reference Guide : Get The Knowledge and Skills You Need To Become A Linux Certified Professional / by Philip Inshanally.
  • Confessions of an AI Brain / by Elena Fersman, Paul Pettersson, Athanasios Karapantelakis.
  • Content Distribution for Mobile Internet : A Cloud-based Approach, 2nd Edition 2023 / by Zhenhua Li, Yafei Dai, Guihai Chen, Yunhao Liu.
  • Core Data Services for ABAP, 3rd Edition 2024, Updated and Revised / by Renzo Colle, Ralf Dentzer, Jan Hrastnik.
  • Counterintelligence in a Cyber World / by Paul A. Watters.
  • Cyber Security : Essential Principles to Secure Your Organisation / by Alan Calder.
  • Database Performance at Scale : A Practical Guide / by Felipe Cardeneti Mendes, Piotr Sarna, Pavel Emelyanov, Cynthia Dunlop.
  • Deep Cognitive Networks : Enhance Deep Learning by Modeling Human Cognitive Mechanism / by Yan Huang, Liang Wang.
  • Deep Learning for Data Architects : Unleash The Power of Python's Deep Learning Algorithms / by Shekhar Khandelwal.
  • Deep Learning on Edge Computing Devices : Design Challenges of Algorithm and Architecture, First edition / by Xichuan Zhou, Haijun Liu, Cong Shi, Ji Liu.
  • Design for Developers / by Stephanie Stimac.
  • Designing Applications for Google Cloud Platform : Create and Deploy Applications Using Java / by Ashutosh Shashi.
  • Designing and Implementing Cloud-native Applications Using Microsoft Azure Cosmos DB : Study Companion for the DP-420 Exam / by Steve Flowers.
  • Developing Sustainable and Energy-Efficient Software Systems / by Artem Kruglov, Giancarlo Succi.
  • Dynamic Graph Learning for Dimension Reduction and Data Clustering / by Lei Zhu, Jingjing Li, Zheng Zhang.
  • Effective Software Development for the Enterprise : Beyond Domain Driven Design, Software Architecture, and Extreme Programming / by Tengiz Tutisani.
  • Elasticsearch 8 for Developers : A Beginner's Guide to Indexing, Analyzing, Searching, and Aggregating Data, 2nd Edition / by Anurag Srivastava.
  • Enhancing IoT Security : A Holistic Approach to Security for Connected Platforms / by Vidushi Sharma, Gamini Joshi.
  • Full Stack Development with SAP / by Rene Glavanovits, Martin Koch, Daniel Krancz, Maximilian Olzinger.
  • Functional Programming in R 4 : Advanced Statistical Programming for Data Science, Analysis, and Finance, 2nd ed. / by Thomas Mailund.
  • Generative AI : How ChatGPT and Other AI Tools Will Revolutionize Business / by Tom Taulli.
  • Getting Started with SQL and Databases : Managing and Manipulating Data with SQL / by Mark Simon.
  • Google Professional Cloud Developer Exam Guide : Ace the Google Professional Cloud Developer Exam With This Comprehensive Guide / by Fiifi Baidoo.
  • Grow Your Business with AI : A First Principles Approach for Scaling Artificial Intelligence in the Enterprise / by Francisco Javier Campos Zabala.
  • Hands-On Augmented Reality Development with Meta Spark Studio : A Beginners Guide / by Jaleh Afshar.
  • Hands-on Guide to Apache Spark 3 : Build Scalable Computing Engines for Batch and Stream Data Processing / by Alfonso Antolinez Garcia.
  • Hyperautomation with Generative AI : Learn How Hyperautomation and Generative AI Can Help You Transform Your Business and Create New Value / by Navdeep Singh Gill, Dr. Jagreet Kaur, Suryakant.
  • Implementing Design Patterns in C# 11 and .NET 7 : Learn How to Design and Develop Robust and Scalable Applications Using Design Patterns, 2nd Edition / by Alexandre F. Malavasi Cardoso.
  • Information Assurance and Risk Management Strategies : Manage Your Information Systems and Tools in the Cloud / by Bradley Fowler.
  • Innovative Engineering with AI Applications / by Anamika Ahirwar, Piyush Kumar Shukla, Manish Shrivastava, Priti Maheshwary, Bhupesh Gour.
  • Integrating EWM in SAP S/4HANA / by Shailesh Patil, Sudhakar Bandaru.
  • Integrity Constraints on Rich Data Types / by Shaoxu Song, Lei Chen.
  • Intelligent Internet of Things Networks / by Haipeng Yao, Mohsen Guizani.
  • Introducing Advanced Intercompany Sales and Stock Transfer with SAP S/4HANA / by Mrinal K. Roy.
  • Introducing Functional Programming Using C# : Leveraging a New Perspective for OOP Developers / by Vaskaran Sarcar.
  • Introducing Universal Parallel Accounting with SAP S/4HANA / by Smitha Chowdavarapu.
  • Introduction to Java Through Game Development : Learn Java Programming Skills by Working with Video Games / by Victor G. Brusca.
  • Introduction to Photoshop : An Essential Guide for Absolute Beginners / by Kevin Wilson.
  • IoT Data Analytics using Python : Learn How to Use Python to Collect, Analyze, and Visualize IoT Data / by M S Hariharan.
  • IoT Enabled Multi-Energy Systems : From Isolated Energy Grids to Modern Interconnected Networks / by Mohammadreza Daneshvar, Behnam Mohammadi-Ivatloo, Kazem Zare, Amjad Anvari-Moghaddam.
  • Java : The Complete Reference, Thirteenth Edition / by Herbert Schildt, Danny Coward.
  • LPI Web Development Essentials Study Guide : Exam 030-100 / by Audrey O'Shea.
  • Learn AI-assisted Python Programming : With GitHub Copilot and ChatGPT / by Leo Porter, Daniel Zingaro.
  • Learn Data Mining Through Excel : A Step-by-Step Approach for Understanding Machine Learning Methods, 2nd Edition / by Hong Zhou.
  • Leveling Up with SQL : Advanced Techniques for Transforming Data into Insights / by Mark Simon.
  • MIT Sloan Management Review Article on Adding Cybersecurity Expertise to Your Board / by Chon Abraham, Sasha Cohen Oconnell, Iria Giuffrida, Ronald R. Sims.
  • MIT Sloan Management Review Article on Tackling AI's Climate Change Problem / by Niklas Sundberg.
  • MIT Sloan Management Review Article on The Rise of Connector Roles in Data Science / by Thomas C. Redman, Thomas H. Davenport.
  • MIT Sloan Management Review Article on The Working Limitations of Large Language Models / by Mikhail Burtsev, Martin Reeves, Adam Job.
  • MIT Sloan Management Review Article on Use Open Source for Safer Generative AI Experiments / by Aron Culotta, Nicholas Mattei.
  • MIT Sloan Management Review Article on What Managers Should Ask About AI Models and Data Sets / by Roger W. Hoerl, Thomas C. Redman.
  • Machine Learning Empowered Intelligent Data Center Networking : Evolution, Challenges and Opportunities / by Ting Wang, Bo Li, Mingsong Chen, Shui Yu.
  • Machine Learning Techniques for Cybersecurity / by Elisa Bertino, Sonam Bhardwaj, Fabrizio Cicala, Sishuai Gong, Imtiaz Karim, Charalampos Katsis, Hyunwoo Lee, Adrian Shuai Li, Ashraf Y. Mahgoub.
  • Machine Learning for Beginners : Build and Deploy Machine Learning Systems Using Python, 2nd Edition / by Dr. Harsh Bhasin.
  • Mastering UX Design with Effective Prototyping : Turn Your Ideas Into Reality With UX Prototyping / by Apurvo Ghosh.
  • Media Innovations AR and VR : Success Factors For The Development Of Experiences / by Elle Langer.
  • Metaverse : Concept, Content and Context / by Shenghui Cheng.
  • Multimodal Affective Computing : Technologies and Applications in Learning Environments / by Ramon Zatarain Cabada, Hector Manuel Cardenas Lopez, Hugo Jair Escalante.
  • Neural Text-to-Speech Synthesis / by Xu Tan.
  • Next Stop Metaverse : A Quick Guide to Concepts, Uses, and Potential for Research and Practice / by Ralf T. Kreutzer, Sonja Klose.
  • Normalization of Multidimensional Data for Multi-Criteria Decision Making Problems : Inversion, Displacement, Asymmetry / by Irik Z. Mukhametzyanov.
  • PHP 8 Basics : For Programming and Web Development / by Gunnard Engebreth, Satej Kumar Sahu.
  • Practical Implementation of a Data Lake : Translating Customer Expectations into Tangible Technical Goals / by Nayanjyoti Paul.
  • Practical Next.js for E-Commerce : Create E-Commerce Sites with the Next.js Framework / by Alex Libby.
  • Principles of Computer Science : An Invigorating, Hands-on Approach / by Joshua Crotts.
  • Pro iPhone Development with SwiftUI : Design and Manage Top-Quality Apps, 4th Edition / by Wallace Wang.
  • Processing for Android : Create Mobile, Sensor-aware, and XR Applications Using Processing, 2nd Edition / by Andres Colubri.
  • Programming for Absolute Beginners : Using the JavaScript Programming Language / by Jonathan Bartlett.
  • Prototyping User eXperience in eXtended Reality / by Monica Bordegoni, Marina Carulli, Elena Spadoni.
  • Python 3 and Data Visualization / by Oswald Campesato.
  • Pythonic AI : A Beginner's Guide to Building AI Applications in Python / by Arindam Banerjee.
  • Querying Databricks with Spark SQL : Leverage SQL to Query and Analyze Big Data for Insights / by Adam Aspin.
  • React : The Comprehensive Guide / by Sebastian Springer.
  • React Quickly, Second Edition / by Morten Barklund, Azat Mardan.
  • Representation in Machine Learning / by M. N. Murty, M. Avinash.
  • Revenue Accounting and Reporting with SAP S/4HANA / by Sreten Milosavljevic, Swayam Prabha Shankara.
  • SAP S/4HANA Administration / by Mark Mergaerts, Bert Vanstechelman.
  • SPSS Statistics Workbook For Dummies / by Jesus Salcedo, Keith Mccormick.
  • SQL Server Analytical Toolkit : Using Windowing, Analytical, Ranking, and Aggregate Functions for Data and Statistical Analysis / by Angelo Bobak.
  • Simple and Efficient Programming with C# : Skills to Build Applications with Visual Studio and .NET, Second Edition / by Vaskaran Sarcar.
  • Software Development with Go : Cloud-Native Programming using Golang with Linux and Docker / by Nanik Tolaram.
  • Spring Boot 3 and Spring Framework 6 / by Christian Ullenboom.
  • Still Searching for Satoshi : Unveiling the Blockchain Revolution / by Anders Lisdorf.
  • Teach Yourself VISUALLY HTML and CSS, 2nd Edition / by Guy Hart-Davis.
  • The CISO Perspective : Understand The Importance of The CISO in The Cyber Threat Landscape / by Barry Kouns, Jake Kouns.
  • The Service Desk Handbook : A Guide to Service Desk Implementation, Management and Support / by Sanjay Nair.
  • Thinking Data Science : A Data Science Practitioner's Guide / by Poornachandra Sarang.
  • Trustworthy Artificial Intelligence Implementation : Introduction to the TAII Framework / by Josef Baker-Brunnbauer.
  • UX Lifecycle : The Business Guide To Implementing Great Software User Experiences / by Clive Howard, Jeremy Baines.
  • Unlocking dbt : Design and Deploy Transformations in Your Cloud Data Warehouse / by Cameron Cyr, Dustin Dorsey.
  • Up Up and Array! : Dynamic Array Formulas for Excel 365 and Beyond / by Abbott Ira Katz.
  • Using Microsoft Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations : Learn and understand the Dynamics 365 Supply Chain Management and Finance Apps, 2nd Edition / by Andreas Luszczak.
  • Using and Administering Linux : Volume 1: Zero to SysAdmin: Getting Started, 2nd Edition / by David Both.
  • Why DeFi Matters : What Cryptoassets, Web3 and The Metaverse Really Mean for Finance / by Ian Horne.
  • Workflow for SAP S/4HANA / by Sabyasachi Dutta, Nilay Ghosh, Kousik Goon, Sandip Jana, Arindam Mukherjee, Srinivas Rao, Yogeendar Rao, Yogesh Sane, Naveen Veshala, Kiran Viswanathan.
  • Workload Automation Using HWA : With Architecture and Deployment Options / by Navin Sabharwal, Subramani Kasiviswanathan.
  • iOS 17 App Development for Beginners : Get Started with iOS App Development Using Swift 5.9, SwiftUI, and Xcode 15 / by Arpit Kulsreshtha.
  • iOS Development at Scale : App Architecture and Design Patterns for Mobile Engineers / by Eric Vennaro.
  • x64 Assembly Language Step-by-Step : Programming with Linux, 4th Edition / by Jeff Duntemann.
  • 2024-2025 Saunders Clinical Judgment and Test-Taking Strategies - E-Book : Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX Exam.
  • Human Trafficking: A Global Health Emergency [electronic resource] : Perspectives from Nursing, Criminal Justice, and the Social Sciences / edited by Mary de Chesnay, Donna Sabella.
  • Lippincott nursing procedures.
  • Making sense of evidence-based practice for nursing : an introduction to quantitative and qualitative research and systematic reviews / Debra Evans.
  • Pocket Guide to Townsend's Pyschiatric Nursing.
  • Potter & Perry's Pocket Guide to Nursing Skills & Procedures / Patricia A. Potter and Anne G. Perry.
  • AI 2041 : ten visions for our future / Kai-Fu Lee and Chen Qiufan.
  • Cry, Baby : Why Our Tears Matter.
  • Duel Without End : Mankind's Battle with Microbes.
  • Marijuana on my mind : the science and mystique of cannabis / Timmen L. Cermak, MD.
  • Raising Lazarus : hope, justice, and the future of America's overdose crisis.
  • The Hidden Roots of White Supremacy : And the Path to a Shared American Future.
  • The algorithm : how AI decides who gets hired, monitored, promoted, and fired and why we need to fight back now.
  • The education debate : what everyone needs to know / David Kirp & Kevin Macpherson.
  • The good-enough life / Avram Alpert.
  • The great displacement : climate change and the next American migration / Jake Bittle.
  • The liars of nature and the nature of liars : cheating and deception in the living world / Lixing Sun.
  • The people's hospital : hope and peril in American medicine / Ricardo Nuila.
  • The secret lives of children in the digital age : disruptive devices and resourceful learners / by Linda Laidlaw, Joanne O'Mara, and Suzanna So Har Wong.
  • The song of the cell : an exploration of medicine and the new human / Siddhartha Mukherjee.
  • The two moralities : conservatives, liberals, and the roots of our political divide / Ronnie Janoff-Bulman. [electronic resource]
  • Viruses : a natural history / Marilyn Roossinck.
  • Wasteland : The Secret World of Waste and the Urgent Search for a Cleaner Future.
  • Water always wins : thriving in an age of drought and deluge / Erica Gies.
  • OCC is committed to empowering our students to succeed and advancing our community.
    ©2023 Oakland Community College, OAKLAND COMMUNITY COLLEGE / 2900 FEATHERSTONE ROAD, AUBURN HILLS, MI 48326, 248.232.4100
    Privacy Statement | Accreditations | Web Accessibility | Webmaster