Oakland Community College Home

Libraries

Find Books / Library Catalog | Find Articles / Databases | Research Guides | Libraries Home
Fall 2022 Library Service Updates

Electronic Resources News & Information

The latest activity in Electronic Resources at the OCC Libraries

Streaming Video News

Films On Demand New Titles
New titles are always being added to our Films On Demand subscription. See what's new for January.

Problem With Access to Swank Digital Campus Streaming Videos Fixed

The issues we were having with authenticating through EZproxy for videos in Swank Digital Campus has been resolved. Anyone should be able to login to these videos now using their OCC ID & password. The videos are available in Search Everything as well as being listed and linked at https://libguides.oaklandcc.edu/videos/swank. No more need to establish an individual username!

Updated Information on Ebook Downloading

The procedures for downloading & borrowing ebooks from the EBSCO and ProQuest platforms has been updated:

Please note this does not mean the complex procedure for ebook downloading has changed, we are just pointing to more detailed descriptions for those wishing to try it. Most users will probably more inclined to using the ebooks online without borrowing or to use the save/print features in the ebook platforms which typically allow you to save up to 100 pages at a time.

2020 Most Used Ebooks

The top ebooks by use in 2020

Uses   Title
839   The Neal-Schuman Library Technology Companion: A Basic Guide for Library Staff, Fifth Edition
506   Libraries in the Information Age: An Introduction and Career Exploration, 3rd Edition
215   Small Teaching Online: Applying Learning Science in Online Classes
199   Fundamentals of Nursing (Two Volume Set)
189   Reference and Information Services: An Introduction, Fourth Edition
158   Beginning Cataloging, 2nd Edition
140   Evidence-based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice
128   Unlocking the Mysteries of Cataloging: A Workbook of Examples
126   Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness and the Politics of Empowerment
120   21st Century Access Services: On the Frontline of Academic Librarianship
115   Evidence-based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice
98   Gerontological Nursing: Competencies for Care
87   Communicating Professionally: A How-To-Do-It Manual for Librarians
82   Introduction to Documentary, Third Edition
54   DSM-5® Guidebook: The Essential Companion to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition
52   Introduction to Chemical Safety Management
47   What the Best College Teachers Do
46   Vaccines and Your Child: Separating Fact from Fiction
45   Anger Management: 6 Critical Steps to a Calmer Life
45   Be Happy Without Being Perfect: How to Break Free From the Perfection Deception

The top ebooks by use in 2020

Uses   Title
2730   Collection Development and Management for 21st Century Library Collections
1634   Revolution from Within
239   Here Be Dragons
184   Birth Control
134   Fundamentals of Collection Development and Management
130   The RDA Primer: A Guide for the Occasional Cataloger
111   Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research
84   GMO Food: a Reference Handbook
75   Vaccination Controversies
69   School Violence: a Reference Handbook, 2nd Edition
60   Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Control
58   Fracking: a Reference Handbook
51   Screen-Smart Parenting
40   The Opioid Epidemic
38   Evidence-Based Geriatric Nursing Protocols for Best Practice
37   Student Debt
36   The Minimum Wage: a Reference Handbook
35   Artificial Intelligence
35   Physical Rehabilitation, Medicine, and Therapy Sourcebook
30   Climate Change

The top ebooks by use in 2020

Uses   Title
4589   Secure Software Design
40   SPSS For Dummies; 2nd Edition
36   Microsoft Office 2013/365 and Beyond
20   Object-Oriented C++ Programming
17   Discovering Microsoft Office 2019: Word Excel Access Powerpoint; Includes Windows 10
16   More Python Programming for the Absolute Beginner
14   SPSS Statistics for Dummies; 3rd Edition
13   Exploring Machine Learning: k-Nearest Neighbor (kNN)
13   Pro HTML5 with CSS; JavaScript; and Multimedia: Complete Website Development and Best Practices
10   Beginning Python Visualization: Crafting Visual Transformation Scripts
10   Artificial Intelligence: Reshaping Life and Business
9   The Basics of Cyber Safety: Computer and Mobile Device Safety Made Easy
9   Network Security; Firewalls and VPNs; Second Edition
8   Microsoft Office and Beyond: Computer Concepts and Applications
7   Handbook of Mobile Communication Studies
6   SPSS Data Analysis for Univariate; Bivariate; and Multivariate Statistics
6   Beginning C++ Through Game Programming; Fourth Edition
5   Google Apps: Creating and Sharing Word Documents
5   Microsoft Outlook 2013 For Dummies
5   Audio Source Separation and Speech Enhancement
5   Research Methods for Cyber Security

New Ebooks January 2021

New EBSCOhost ebooks for January 2021

  • An archaeology of unchecked capitalism : the American rust belt to the developing world / Shackel, Paul A., author.
  • City on fire : the fight for Hong Kong / Dapiran, Antony, author.
  • Going the Distance : Eurasian Trade and the Rise of the Business Corporation, 1400-1700 / Harris, Ron, author.
  • Information Wars  
  • Overground railroad : the Green Book and the roots of Black travel in America / Taylor, Candacy A.
  • The essential Clarence Major : prose & poetry /
  • Which country has the world's best health care? / Emanuel, Ezekiel J., 1957- author.
  • Multicultural citizenship a liberal theory of minority rights / Kymlicka, Will.
  • Teaching with a global perspective : practical strategies from course design to assessment / Bikowski, Dawn, author.

New ProQuest ebooks for January 2021

  • Clinical Companion to Medical-Surgical Nursing - E-Book : Assessment and Management of Clinical Problems.    Lewis, Sharon Mantik.
  • An Internet for the People : The Politics and Promise of craigslist /    Lingel, Jessa, author.
  • Breaking the two-party doom loop : the case for multiparty democracy in America /    Drutman, Lee, 1976- author.
  • Crowdsourcing the law : trying sexual assault on social media /    Banner, Francine, author.
  • Detox Your Thoughts    
  • Global meat : the social and environmental consequences of the expanding meat industry /    
  • Great Lakes rocks : 4 billion years of geologic history in the Great Lakes Region /    Kesler, Stephen E., author.
  • Michelangelo's painting : selected essays /    Steinberg, Leo, 1920-2011, author.
  • Michelle Obama and the FLOTUS effect : platform, presence, and agency /    
  • Prison by any other name : the harmful consequences of popular reforms /    Schenwar, Maya, author.
  • Rethinking diversity frameworks in higher education /    Chun, Edna Breinig, author.
  • Show people : a history of the film star /    Newton, Michael, author.
  • Social media issues /    Wyckoff, Claire, author.
  • Stocks and bonds /    Knoop, Todd A., author.
  • Strength Coaching in America    
  • Taxation /    Dieterle, David Anthony, author.
  • The Negro leagues were major leagues : historians reappraise black baseball /    
  • The Selected Letters of Ralph Ellison /    
  • The Undocumented Americans /    Villavicencio, Karla Cornejo
  • The butterfly effect : how Kendrick Lamar ignited the soul of black America /    Moore, Marcus J., author.
  • The charisma machine : the life, death, and legacy of one laptop per child /    Ames, Morgan G., author.
  • The merit myth : how our colleges favor the rich and divide America /    Carnevale, Anthony Patrick, author.
  • Transgressed : intimate partner violence in transgender lives /    Guadalupe-Diaz, Xavier L., author.
  • Where do we go from here chaos or community? /    King, Martin Luther, Jr., 1929-1968.
  • Who gets in and why : a year inside college admissions /    Selingo, Jeffrey J., author.

Training Opportunities

OCC is committed to empowering our students to succeed and advancing our community.
©2022 Oakland Community College, OAKLAND COMMUNITY COLLEGE / 2480 OPDYKE ROAD, BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI 48304, 248.341.2000
Privacy Statement | Mission, Values & Vision | Accreditations | Webmaster